Living and visiting Sydney

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit community

I keep talking about my stay and visit of Australia. In my previous posts I wrote about my top five favorite locations and my living experience in Victoria including some trips.

CIMG0460.JPG

CIMG0662.JPG

Today my post is dedicated to Sydney the largest and populated city in the southern Pacific. I found impressive how it sprawls and huge was. Looking at the map is not enough I realize only when I had caught a train from one stop of the central business district to another one in the periphery.

CIMG0470.JPG

I left Victoria before Christmas as I mentioned in my previous posts. I spent the first six months of the following year in Sydney. From the end of June to half september I received my tax back and travelled around the country. From half of september till my second working holiday Visa again in Sydney.
Well Sydney “offered to me” my first 25th December and 1st January on the beach with a warm weather. I think for one who born in the northern hemisphere and never spent Christmas holidays somewhere which usually is warm. That should be an amazing experience.

CIMG0434.JPG

CIMG0436.JPG

Spend new year's eve beside the Harbour bridge and in front of Opera House was an awesome spectacle made of a fireworks and a stunning party. Full of people seeing the fireworks from different spots of the bay. The Harbour bridge were closed due to the show of the fireworks. Many boat party around the bay. It was simply fantastic!

CIMG0486.JPG

When I had the time in the following months I used to spend sunday or saturday (depend on when I had my days off) spending few hours or on the beach or visiting around the metropolis of Sydney.

CIMG0651.JPG

CIMG0656.JPG

I definetely like and miss catch the bus from the Central Business Distritct to Eastern Suburb due to have a coastal walks from Bondi to Maroubra. During my stay I walked through many times alone or with friends and flatmates. Spending a couple of hours in one of those beaches, sometimes swimming when the weather was warm and challenging the high waves of the sea.

CIMG0540.JPG

CIMG0676.JPG

I miss also catch the ferry from CBD,cross the bay to go to Manly. Another popular seaside destination situated in a penisula between the bay and the Tasman sea.

CIMG0528.JPG

CIMG0527.JPG

Its coastline is complemented by coastwalks in which you can also travel by bike. I heard it is famous for surfing with a good range of surf break also for beginners. I just tried once, to be honest not here. I am not good at that but it has been a nice experience.

CIMG0557.JPG

CIMG0558.JPG

Great lookouts of CBD you can find in Manly

CIMG0545.JPG

Another beautiful spot is Watson bay in past was an area of indigenous fishermen.

CIMG0629.JPG

Nowadays it is an harbourside and a populated area with nice beaches. Also here you can have some beautiful coastal walk

CIMG0649.JPG

CIMG0622.JPG

To getting to Watson Bay is possible by ferry, by bus and by car it is around 10 km far from the Central Business District.

Keep discovering the city and see it from different corners. One is the Sawmillers Reserve another “corner” to see the Harbour Bridge.
CIMG0601.JPG

CIMG0595.JPG

It was a great pleasure to be in Sydney during the Vivid festival. Sydney become full of colourful lights around its buildings and skyscrapers including the Opera House and the Town Hall.

CIMG0785.JPG

It is an impressive spectacle which whoever is coming to Sydney should see.

11231806_764440310344493_7305199546650833749_n.jpg

It usually is between May and June when the coldest season is coming. Many public exibitions and of outdoor sculpturing and musicians performance also define this attractive festival.

996123_764758890312635_6379921545844881007_n.jpg

11059460_764752716979919_3313193619636620370_o.jpg

Vivid Festival is very famous also overseas. Less famous but in my opinion not underrated was the Sculptures by the Sea

CIMG1932.JPG

A free exibition of outdoor sculptures in the coastal walk from Bondi beach (which I mentioned previously) . Local and international artists stretch this coastwalk into sculptures outdoor park.

CIMG1937.JPG

CIMG1948.JPG

CIMG1949.JPG

I also would mention the Darling Harbour adjacent to the Central Business District. It is an entertainment waterside area with sea life acquarium , shops, cinema, bar, restaurants, hotels and nearby a chinese garden.

CIMG0677.JPG

CIMG0901.JPG

CIMG0582.JPG

The next pictures was taken from the building I used to live and which was not far from the Central Business Distict

CIMG1928.JPG

CIMG1923.JPG

As I was saying Sydney was where my second year consecutevely of working holiday visa began and also where ended when it had expired. In the next posts I will keep writing about some of my trips in New South Wales and around Australia. It was great to spend another Christmas and New year's eve in this city. It has been eloquent my experience of living and visiting this magnificient and well organized city.

CIMG2038.JPG

Thanks for your attention

All photos are mine and they were taken with my camera Casio EX-Z60 . Except those three photos of Opera House, CBD skyscrapers and Town hall with lights were taken with one of flatmates's camera)

Sort:  

Wow, very interesting and well written travel post. Sydney must be truly awesome. I particularly like the sunset pictures . Thanks for providing real value to the community @philfreetotravel.

Thanks a lot for watch my post and your comment @raci I think I should keep improving my english I am doing my best to provide such value to this great community of Steemit!

Keep up the good work my friend. Your English is fine 😊

Good post! Iwish I could travel there in the future.

I hope you will be able to travel in the future as well Australia is a fantastic country!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=philfreetotravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=living-and-visiting-sydney


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56