Incredible India! Living and visiting New Delhi 1st part

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dear steemit community!

I decided to not post about my trips for some days because I was planning to talk about in a different way. In any of my previous post I was talking about trips. Today I would start to talking of my stay in the capital of the subcontinent. A stay of none months. It is difficult to summarize my experience in just one or two posts.

28012012209.jpg
(India Gate)

India is not a common country, it is told that India “or you hate” or “you love”. I am probably one of few people one who disagree with both. When somebody asked me how India was, my answer was “Incredible”. The one who made up the logo of tourism “Incredible India” is a virtuoso or “maybe a genius” because with just such adjective was able to summarize the whole subcontinent. I probably have a “diplomatic position” but actually it is simply my perspective.

CIMG6631.JPG
(Lotus Temple)

The common imagination about India as dirty and crowded. Actually it is not only that. I saw Indians recycle glass bottles and some Indians burn the thrash including plastic. Is it a contradiction isn't it? According to local people that is just an opposite. For example the metro of New Delhi is very modern and clean even during the rush hours when it is very crowded. But inside it is forbidden to take pictures, plus it is very well supervised and controlled by members of Indian army and metal detectors.
Outside the metro the situation is different with also some old buildings, crowded roads and smaller streets. India is “a different world to discover” for any foreigner visitor. When I had time and/or days off I was able to visit and experience the city and some part of the northern part of India. ( My previous post were about those trips).

534021_10151193978772468_588155145_n.jpg
(Sultanpur Colony)

Firstly I would show some of my visiting

The city is divided in Old and New. The first one is the most historical in which are situated different temple and one of the largest mosque Jama Masjid built in typical Arabic style by the Moghul emperor Shah Jahan. The same one who built the Taj Mahal in Agra and the Red Fort not far from that mosque.

CIMG7392.JPG

CIMG7393.JPG
(Jama Masjid)

The Lal Quila (Red Fort) is also World Heritage Unesco since 2007 impressive the decorations and the Islamic representations of Coran. In Old Delhi is situated The Raj Ghat, the memorial of Mahatma Gandhi. The location where he was cremated after his murder.

CIMG7371.JPG

CIMG7378.JPG

CIMG7379.JPG

CIMG7382.JPG

CIMG7383.JPG
(Red Fort)

The new one was designated during the British colonization

Visiting the India Gate the monument dedicated to the Indian victims from 1914 to 1921. (First picture) Closely the building of Federal government of India (Rashtrapati Bhavan).

CIMG6485.JPG

The Qtab Minar is one the symbol of the capital of India. Built during the 12th century is the highest minaret,approximately 70 meter and also world heritage Unesco.

CIMG6845.JPG

Humayun's tomb is another site acknowledged by Unesco since 1993. A mausoleum built in sandstone surrounded by a beautiful garden with two entrance built sandstone one on the north, the second one the sud. An admirable example of persian and islamic architecture.

CIMG7076.JPG

Another mausoleum is the Safdarjung's tomb built in sandstone. Its ornaments and decorations are the most important attractive.

CIMG7093.JPG

New Delhi has a wide number of temple I show few I have visited one is the Iskcon temple situated in the Eastern Kailash not far from I used to live my first month.

CIMG6640.JPG

It is a very recent temple opened in the end of last century

CIMG6642.JPG

Inside that is its golden shrine

CIMG6643.JPG

I would conclude this first post about Delhi and say that in the next one I will further talk to my "Incredible" experience

Thanks for your attention and hope one day you will visit this city if haven't visited yet!

!steemitworldmap 28.661898 lat 77.227396 Delhi, India d3scr

Sort:  

The first pic looks like le chansiliseèè in France, quite lovely architecture in India, didn't know if untill now

Do you mean the Arc of Triomphe and Champs Elysées in Paris ? If yes I agree with you! Thanks for your comment!

Yes exactly, that's what I ment, have you been there too?

To Paris I have been more than once

Nice to see these photos! Humayun’s Tomb is one of my favorites. Looking forward to the next post.

Thanks for your comment I will post it soon

Looks like you had a blast! Looking forward for more @philfreetotravel!

Actually it was a kind of adventure living in India @alexandraioana

How was your trip to India?

I have a friend in there. It's a place that I hope one day to visit. :)

Not very easy to summarize almost one year living in India. India is beautiful to visit when it is not extremely hot and/or humid . Living it is not easy for who is not vegetarian and do not get used to live in such climate without airconditionned and sometimes water.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77