You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Pro Answers #2: @Chefsteve Asks: How Do you Avoid Food Born Illness When Traveling?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Your tips are all great and to the point! Although I wouldn't cook in my hotel room as I travel with a small backpack only but I'd love to see what you cook on your travels.
I have travelled around Southeast Asia and gotten sick there about 3 times, always from something uncooked, like a salad. The last time both my husband and I got salmonella in northern Thailand from an avocado toast with fried egg...we were both out for a week.
Following you for more!

Sort:  

I'm so sorry to hear that. This wouldn't be the first time I've heard of people getting sick from western style food in Asia. I should have mentioned this in my article. In Asia, they don't know how to cook or prepare western food generally speaking. They always screw it up to one extent of another. It's not what they do, know, or eat.

In asia I always stick to Asian food. Soups, curries, fresh fruit, clean looking street food. In fact I didn't sit down for a western breakfast once for the entire four months I was in Thailand. I just would go to any local market and get some fried bananas or fresh fruit for one third the price, safer, healthier and better. I'd sometimes have a coffee at a shop, or 7-11, or at my hotel if they offered. But I prefer to just have fresh clean fruit for breakfast in general. But that is a real good rule in Asai. Stick to what they know, asian food.

In fact I was noticing people at the resort I was staying at in Koh Phengnan so many people were ordering hamburgers, salads, pizza, speghetti.....they were all complaining about how terrible the food was. I was ordering, green curry, red curry, Pat Si Ew, Tum Yum Soup, Pad Thia, Panang Curry, Tom Ka, ....all at the same restaurant and telling them all how great the food was! I saw there western meals, looked awful, my thai food was awesome and authentic.

Looking forward to sharing you a little hotel cooking, while I've made base camp in Guayquil for a few weeks. When I move I proabaly will leave the pot and burner behind as I don't think I want to lug it around. as I plan on traveling faster. These days I've just been catching up on work and have been in the same hotel for about a month now. Will be heading south from Ecuador by the end of the month. Things will get much more exciting.

Anyway thanks for your comment and hope you have a better experience on your next trip! -Dan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30