[Greek Adventure] Sightseeing in Ancient Athens [Where to get the best view of the Parthenon at night!]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow Steemians!


It's @peterkkim96 here to bring you the last episode of my Greek Adventure and as the title suggests, its Athens! The streets of Athens were rich with history and it was evident in the air you breathe as well.

There were heaps of tourists wherever we went and so I suggest going to all the tourist sights earlier in the day to avoid the crowd! Also, if you're going to go to the historical buildings and archaeological sites I recommend buying the tickets online to avoid any long lines you may encounter.

The main historical site I had the pleasure of going to was the Parthenon, the main attraction of Athens, and I found that rather than viewing it up close, it was better to view it from far away as you'll see down below. Hope you enjoy!


Source


Parthenon


Source

The Parthenon without construction being done

The Parthenon is a former temple, on the Athenian Acropolis, Greece, dedicated to the goddess Athena, whom the people of Athens considered their patron.

The Parthenon is regarded as an enduring symbol of Ancient Greece, Athenian democracy and western civilization, and one of the world's greatest cultural monuments. To the Athenians who built it, the Parthenon and other Periclean monuments of the Acropolis, were seen fundamentally as a celebration of Hellenic victory over the Persian invaders and as a thanksgiving to the gods for that victory.

Currently, much of the Parthenon is under repair and the sight is not as remarkable as it should be. However, it is still worth the hike up to see it since it is the main reason why most people go to visit it.

Parthenon up close and the monuments around it

The view over Athens from the Parthenon

Parthenon from far away and where to view it

Some may think that viewing the Parthenon from up close is better, but I personally think that viewing it from far away is better. This is mostly due to the fact that the Parthenon lights up at night and appears to glow in the dark. It really is a sight that you shouldn't miss.

I caught the sunset and the transition from day to night of the Parthenon from the bar "A for Athens". It is a rooftop bar that has a perfect view of the Parthenon and the streets around it. Order some drinks while you sit and wait for the sun to set. I recommend going early to get a seat because it gets full quickly and a line develops if you go too late!


I didn't have much time to spend in Athens since I had to be on a plane and out that night. However, I can say that I will be back to taste the food that I haven't tasted yet and to see the monuments that I have yet to see. Athens offered a lot to me and my only regret is that I didn't have the time to see all of it.

Here's some delicious food I had before I finish


Upvote and Follow Me if you liked the content!

I'm @peterkkim96 and as always, THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Greece is beautiful country, full of history! Awesome photos!

I definitely agree!!
Didn't have a dull moment while I was there and had so much food and fun :)
Have you visited before?

Yes I was in Zakynthos, Laganas and Athens, very beautiful place. I live in Montenegro it is just two countries next to Greece... I suggest you next destination my country you will never regret! :D

I was actually considering a visit there!
Where would you recommend I go??

You should definitely see Kotor, Budva, Tivat, Ulcinj and Cetinje :) Also the northern side of Montenegro is beautiful!

That's awesome. I forgot how historic Greece is. It's amazing those monuments are still standing.

Greece is so full of history, every corner I turned there was always a relic of the past.
It really is amazing that it is still standing after all these years!
Thanks for visiting and hope you have a good day :)

Thanks - I'll be looking forward toward your next posts!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=peterkkim96
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=greek-adventure-sightseeing-in-ancient-athens-where-to-get-the-best-view-of-the-parthenon-at-night


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Very nice photos. I was in Athens many years ago and enjoyed seeing it again through your pictures.

Great to know you enjoyed my post!
I you have time maybe you should visit it again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44