[Croatia Adventure] HVAR, an island where you can have great food, culture and views without going that FAR [Must visit castle while you're there!]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

HI FELLOW STEEMIANS!



In the last post, I took you to Split, Croatia where you could visit the Diocletian Palace (a UNESCO site) and the Park Marjan which was a refreshing forest right next to the city.

This time I'll be taking you to the island of Hvar, considered the queen of the Croatian Dalmation islands. The island is famous since long ago due to its important strategic position, rich history, culture, natural monuments and literature. Also, due to its mild climate and warm winters and pleasant summers, Hvar receives many guests and travelers who are interested in Mediterranean nature, tradition, architecture, and nightlife.

Hvar has been a destination of organised tourism for 140 years and is considered to be one of the 10 most beautiful islands in the world. Let me show you why below.

Hvar Fortress

It stands high above the town and glows golden at night. This medieval castle is situated over the site of an ancient Illyrian settlement that dates before 500BC. It was built at the beginning of the 16th century by the Venetians and was reconstructed in 1579. Today the fort holds a collection of amphora and other exhibits from antiquity and the Middle Ages.

The view you can get from the top over Hvar and the Pakleni Islands are breathtaking, making it worth the hike up from the streets. Once you get past the town walls, it's a gentle slope you have to walk up while shaded by trees that grow next to the path.

View of the fortress from the main square

Taken on the way up from the city

A cannon in the fortress

The view over the city

On my right side was a drop of over 5 m!

Right on the edge

Guess what I see

One by one the lights came on

As the sun set

The sky lit up

What a place to look over at night

Walking down the fortress at night

St Stephen's Cathedral

The Cathedral provides a grand backdrop to the main square and was built in the 16th and 17th centuries when the Dalmatian Renaissance was at its best to replace the one that had been destroyed by the Turks. Some of the older building is visible in the nave and the carved 15th century choir stalls. It's most distinctive feature would have to be its tall, rectangular bell tower, which has an additional window at each level.

View of the main square

Taken from a ledge just above the main square


I only stayed in Hvar for a day so I didn't get to enjoy the nice beaches that were there as well and the nightlife I missed out on because I was sick. If you get the chance enjoy what I couldn't and see the rest of Hvar!


Upvote and Follow Me if you liked the content!

I'm @peterkkim96 and as always, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Did you get to Zlatni Rat on Brac?

I didn't get to :(
Maybe I can go there next time!

Hvar looks amazing. Do you get there via a plane or is it with a boat?
I wish I lived closer to these amazing places, Australia is so far from everything.

You can get there by boat, I did it from Split.
Australia is really far from everything, the only reason I can do all this traveling in Europe is because I came here from a year for exchange!
I'm going to try and make the most of it :)
Hope you get the chance to travel a lot as well in the future!

This is another great travel post @peterkkim96. I think your photos here are great and you've told the story of this place well. I love those sunset photos in particular with the lights coming on--I can see why you hung out there! You're making me want to go there now. Hmm... Maybe I should add it onto my Greek Islands trip.

Also, steemit worldmap! Sorry, but I really want your posts on the map so I'm going to keep nagging you if you forget. 😁

It's close to Greece so it's definitely a possibility!
It's relatively cheap and there's a lot of things to see so you won't be disappointed :)
I added it to the map! Sorry, I forget sometimes haha :p

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=peterkkim96
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=croatia-adventure-hvar-an-island-where-you-can-have-great-food-culture-and-views-without-going-that-far-must-visit-castle-while


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great location photos and post!!

Thanks for your support!
Hope you visit again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77