[Budapest Adventure] @peterkkim96 is off to Budapest! [Includes a quick review of Ryanair and important tip to keep in mind when using its services!]

in #travel7 years ago

Hi Steemians! It’s @peterkkim96 here and I’m off to the Eastern European city of Budapest in Hungary with @kellykim! For now, the rest of my episodes on my Greek Adventure will be shelved to make space and time to bring you my Budapest Adventure! The choice to go to Budapest was actually made while trying to find some cheap flights from around Munich using the Explore function of Kayak.com (click here to see what I mean). If I was a person who had a stable job and income I might have taken a flight straight out of Munich, but…as you guys probably know, I’m just a poor student on exchange (please support me) so when I saw the 9.99 euro flight from Nuremberg to Budapest how could I resist! Please follow closely while I bring you the next instalment of my European adventures, the Budapest chapter!




Source

Off to Nuremberg from Munich

Getting to Nuremberg from here was very easy, just needed to buy a flixbus ticket that takes off from the Munich ZOB and it was relatively cheap at around 7 or 8 euros (which brings my one way trip to Budapest to 17-18 euros! What a bargain!). But, before I left I met up with my Steemit friends @brianyang0912 and @jupal2 because they had just come back from their trip to Budapest and they had some tips to share about where to go which I will take into account! Also, they gave us a small bag of chocolates to snack on the plane and it was just the perfect gift for our restless mouths ;)


On our way to Central Station from our friend's place!


Here's a shot of @kellykim's back ^^


Munich ZOB


Our Flixbus

Nuremberg Hauptbahnhof (Central) to Airport (Flughafen)

By the time we arrived at Nuremberg Hauptbahnhof it was around 5:40pm, an awkward time where it might be too early to have dinner, but when you’re starting to become hungry. So we got a bucket of spicy chicken pieces from KFC, which were on point. I didn’t realise how hungry I was until I took that first bite (I know most of you reading this know what I mean). The juices from the chicken filled my mouth and I immediately had to go in for another bite. Many bites later and not so many minutes later I had eaten around 12 of the 18 pieces in the bucket! Good thing @kellykim wasn’t as hungry as me. When we finished eating it was around 6:20, and our flight departed at 8:35pm, but that was no matter since the train ride from Nuremberg central station to its airport only took 14 minutes!


The street outside Nuremberg Hauptbahnhof




Shots from inside Nuremberg Hbf



The before and after



Nuremberg metro looks different to Munich's metro doesn't it


Bought tickets - being law abiding citizens :)


Us on the train

Nuremberg Airport

The airport was relatively clean and the security process was very quick, which was a great since I hate waiting in lines. One thing to note about the airport is how comfortable the chairs were, I’m not sure if they’d be the best seats I’ve sat on in an airport but they came very close! A nice velvet feel that made me lean back in heavenly comfort. Fast forward a little till when we’re seated on the plane. Although, we had different seat numbers we were able to sit next to each other because there were empty seats next to @kellykim. One interesting thing to note for Ryanair flights is that there usually are quite a number of empty seats and since they reshuffle people around to give them the optimal seat suited to their height, chances are, you’ll get to sit next to your travel buddy.


Entrance to Nuremberg Aiport



Our plane!


The chocolates @brianyang0912 and @jupal2 gifted us

The flight from Nuremberg to Budapest was a relatively short flight at around 1.5hrs and the friendly and energetic flight attendants ensured that it passed by very quickly! (It also gave me some time to write some of this post :) )
NOTE: Remember for Ryanair flights, you have to check in before your flight! and print your ticket! otherwise you have to pay an unreasonable fee —> a couple of my friends had to this before and its not great and it takes away from the bargain nature of its tickets.

Nuremberg Airport to our Airbnb!

Once we got off the plane it was a long walk to the terminal, around 10 minutes or so. It was really foggy so it added a mysterious atmosphere while we were walking and it also provided a refreshing touch. There was no other plane in sight when we touched down at around 10:20pm, maybe we were the last flight?


It was foggier than in this picture

Our Airbnb host advised us to take the 100E bus to get to a stop in the city called Kálvin Square, where he agreed to pick us up. To buy the ticket for the bus there are two options: 1) Go to the desk to the left of the exit from the baggage claim, 2) Buy if from the box right next to the bus stop (I included pictures of both below). I just bought it from the desk because I could see it immediately and since there was no line. The ticket was 900 forints (3 Euros) and the bus ride took around 25min.


The desk where you can buy the tickets


What the tickets for the bus look like


The 100E bus


The ticket machine right next to the bus stop

Our host was waiting right next to the bus stop where we got off and gave me a firm handshake. He then kindly gave us abundant information about Budapest for the next 30min we were together. He also helped us out with planning our next day! I included pictures of his Airbnb and I would recommend him to anyone who comes to Budapest. If you would like to know his Airbnb just comment below :)


A selfie with us with the host!


If anyone has any tips or places you’d like to recommend for my visit to Budapest write in the comment below and I’ll include your name in my post when I visit the attraction!


Upvote and Follow me if you liked the content and want to see what's next!

I'm @peterkkim96 and as always, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Cheer Up!

  • from Clean STEEM activity supporter

good post dear, upvote

Thanks for your support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51