[Budapest Adventure] Going to new heights and tasting new foods [Includes a must visit restaurant if you're in Budapest!]

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! I'm @peterkkim96 and I've completed another day of exploring the beautiful city of Budapest. Luckily for @kellykim and I, the weather has been very kind to us and relatively warm at around 8 degrees Celsius even though its the middle of winter! We ventured up the hillside to one of the highest points in Budapest to see the city down below and visited the number 1 restaurant on Tripadvisor for dinner:) ENJOY!




Source

Fisherman's Bastion

The view from this place was phenomenal! It gave a clear view of the Parliament House and had a different feel during the day and night. Yep, we went two times in one day! Once during the afternoon and back again after dinner to see the night lights and I have to say it was definitely worth it!

The way up

The way up to the Fisherman's Bastion can be done easily by taking the Number 16 bus. The ticket for the bus ride was 350 forints (around 3.2 euros) and the ticket can be bought from ticket vending machines that are scattered aronud the city. If you dont buy it from the machine then you can buy it from the bus driver for 450 forints, but I don't think they provide change so be sure to have an exact amount! If you take the bus it's a lot easier since you don't have to walk up the winding track. But, it might be worthwhile to walk up at least once to see the city from a different angle while you go up.


One of the ticket vending machines, it accepts card as well!


What the single tickets look like

View from Fisherman's Bastion during the day

View from Fisherman's Bastion during the night

Comme Chez Soi

This was the number 1 restaurant on Tripadvisor and it was right in the middle of the central area of Budapest so we had to go! Our expectations and appetite were not that excited, but we were in for a surprise! The food we ordered was phenomenal! I tried goose liver for the first time and it was a lot better than I expected. I'm not completely sure but I think its one of the harder meats to try and cook since it goes rubbery if you overcook it. However, mine was perfect with a slight jiggle when the table wobbled. I think I might go again before I leave Budapest because the price was good and so was the service! Best waiters I have had the pleasure to meet, so energetic and kind. Also, we got a free appetiser and dessert!!!!!


The bright sign made it easy to recognise the restaurant


Right from the moment we were greeting by the waiter and saw the layout of the table, we knew we could expect something good


The interior was decorated with a lot of wine bottles and money bills from all over the world!


The free appetiser that we got


The goose liver which I tried for the first time, the tangy sauce that it came with and the rich pototo mash heightened its flavours so much that I was left wanting more!


The waiter served it from the pan while it was still sizzling (This was after he served two portions)


This was the gorgonzola pappardelle, a must get for cheese lovers


The free dessert consisting of lemon sorbet and moscato!

Bonus: We visited Gelartorosa again!

This time we got the white chocolate with lavender and the pistachio, both were great! But, the real winner was the lemon cheesecake that we ordered, it was the best I'd ever had!


White chocolate with lavender and pistachio


This lemon cheesecake was a winner!


My second full day in Budapest was a real treat, both for my eyes and my stomach! I'm loving every moment in this city and I don't want to leave it at all! Stay tuned for the next episode, where I do more sightseeing :)


Upvote, Follow and Resteem if you liked the content! I post daily :)

I'm @peterkkim96 and as always, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

Great trip! Magical city!

Thank for your support! It really is a magical city!

Really an amazing post, don’t forget to visit my page and upvote. Thanks

Thanks for visiting! I'll have a look :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=peterkkim96
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=budapest-adventure-going-to-new-heights-and-tasting-new-foods-includes-a-must-visit-restaurant-if-you-re-in-budapest


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Nice ! Can't wait to visit Budapest ! Your post is really helpful it nice pictures

I'm sure you'll have an awesome time while you're here! Thanks for visiting :)

Excelent post, thanks, nice pictures

Thank you for your support :)

Wow! Nice shots @peterkkim96!

Thanks! Your support means a lot!

You're welcome! Stay tuned!

This post has received gratitude of 0.63 % from @appreciator thanks to: @peterkkim96.

wow, what a great trip! I wish you put Korean title or short summary for kr community^^

I'll do that next time :)
Thanks for helping out and supporting me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55