Attended a meetup with Steemit Munich!

in #travel7 years ago
Hello Steemians! The great thing about travel and studying in a different country is that it allows you to meet people from all over the world and exposes you to different cultures and ideas. Last night I was granted an opportunity to mingle and be a part of a community by attending a meetup held by @steem-munich at the Cafe CaVa.





I attended the meeting with @brianyang0912, a fellow exchange student at my university, LMU. We had no idea what to expect as we have not been to any Steemit meetings before and we were very curious about who will be at the meeting and what kind of people they were. Our experience with Steemit for the past 3 months for him and last week for me had been great and getting to meet the faces behind each of the accounts was very exciting.
The venue was interesting, it had its own character, with a dull yellow lighting and numerous signs stuck on the wall. After I walked in the door, I felt at home, with the friendly smile of the bartender as he pointed out which table our Steemit friends were sitting at and when everyone who was already there gave us a smile and welcomed us to the table. The welcome was made even better when the members from Austria gifted us with some Austrian chocolates which were extremely tasty, so thank you @theaustrianguy and the other members from Austria (sorry I'm not sure who exactly came from Austria).





These chocolates were delicious!

Thank you for the hand cream @reiseamateur


The food was relatively cheap with my pork schnitzel with fries being 9.9 euros, @brianyang0912 carbonara being 8 euro and the dunkel (dark beer) being 3.2 euro. They were all delicious too with a large serving size that was enough to make me full.


9.9 euros

8 euros

3.2 euros


After the meal, I got a chance to talk with almost everyone at the table and I was surprised to see that there were more people from outside of Munich at the meeting than there were people living in it. This helped me to hear about their journey here and what the differences were in lifestyle, which I find great interest in. Also, everyone seemed to have their own hobby or occupation that were unique and it gave us a lot to talk about, I felt like I was speaking almost non-stop all night!

I would like to finish off by saying thank you to the steemit community for giving us such a great welcome and being willing to talk us, people who come from a different walk of life. It was awesome to be able to meet all of you and I will be coming to the next meeting if you'll have me! I hope we can become closer friends during my time left here in Munich.

Everyone at the meeting. If people who were at the meeting could comment below it would be very helpful, I have trouble reading some of the names :)


Upvote and Follow Me for more of my travels. I'm @peterkkim96 and it's been a pleasure

Sort:  

Hi @peterkkim96,

it was good to see you at the Meetup. Besides @theaustrianguy, the other one was @reiseamateur who was coming form Graz with his lady. To make life easier, here are the participants from the top: @lizanomadsoul, @atinycrab, @freiheit50, @eutectico, @resieamateur, @brianyang0912, @peterkkim96, @schamangerbert, @cobalus, @theaustrianguy, @alexvan, @bobbyboe, @steem-munich, @twinner and @bitone.

See you in January!

Thanks for the clarification! Keen for January and seeing everyone on steem!

Hi Peter nim!
It was a great time to get in contact with you both from the other side of our planet. Lets stay in contact and see you next time in January!

It was great to meet you too! Your explanation of your interest in Shamanism and how flight simulators and instruments work was interesting to hear.

Like I mentioned in @brianyang0912 's post - Great you came :) Looking forward to the next meeting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62644.80
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62