Wandering round Jodhpur, India

in #travel6 years ago

I wandered round quite a lot of Rajasthan by bus and train a few years ago.

man-and-daughter.jpg

I was in Jodhpur, the blue city. Right in the middle of the old town walking around in the heat in the blue streets I came upon this man and his daughter. They invited me into their house and gave me a refreshing juice. The whole family were in there watching TV in the mid afternoon. I wrote to them after my return to England. So welcoming...

2girls.jpg

More kids on the street outside. So happy and carefree, though extremely poor.

beautifulrubbish.jpg

Even the rubbish on the street looked beautiful...

cloth-stool.jpg

...and the shops...

kerb.jpg

...even the edge of the curb...

It is easy to become fearful in a totally new (to you) place, but in almost all cases there is no need. Most people all over the world are kind. Just trying to make a living and doing the best for their families. We should maintain the attitude that we are all equal. Everyone should be treated just the same. Would this were so.

PJ

Sort:  

It just goes to show how materialistic items don't necessarily bring happiness. Humanity seems more prevalent in these 'developing' and 'deprived' areas than in the so-called civilized world.

How much we could learn just by looking back.

Thanks Rob, hope you is AOK...PJ

I'm good thank you Peter. I've been out all day so I'm playing catch-up with my followers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60832.40
ETH 2912.20
BNB 525.30
SBD 2.31