Middle East Protests

in #travel5 years ago

Only 2 weeks after moving to Lebanon I witnessed something I've never seen before. The government proposed to raise the taxes and the people didn't agree. This was part of the reaction. Roadblocks were happening throughout the whole country.

20191018_145651.jpg

20191019_174333.jpg

Landing in this mess after some years in the UAE, a country where protests don't exist, was a bit upsetting but things slowly calmed down over the next few weeks. The tax raises were cancelled but there's a long way to repair the economic situation.

Sort:  

Wow! That is a scary situation to walk into. I have lived in different places in the world but never one that had that kind of unrest. I am wondering how I would have reacted.

I have been to Paris when they lock all the roads up, but, never in fear of my life. I hope it is work that has brought you there and I wish you well and safety as they untangle their differences.

!tip

🎁 Hi @penticton! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72