THE SEYCHELLES - PART II: BOAT TRIP TO LA DIGUE - A JOURNEY THAT ALMOST RUINED MY CRUISE AMBITIONsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago


  In continuation of my vacation in Seychelles, I went to La Digue in the company of other tourists. La Digue is one of Islands the second in Seychelles. The trip to was made by boat.   



We set out at about 7.30am. Before the trip, the guy from the Tour Company had given me some tips on how to avoid sea sickness. These included:  

  • Sitting in the middle of the boat and  
  •  I should avoid sitting in front or back of the boat at all cost.  


With all these tips, I thought I was equipped to have a hitch free trip. But I was wrong! May be these tips worked for some people but they did not work for me.   As we moved on the sea, I started feeling sick and soon enough, I noticed I was not the only one. There was provision on the boat to take care of people like me. Initially I felt embarrassed. But seeing others it was a bit bearable.  




 Eventually, we arrived La Digue through Praslin (another Island) and all the discomfort on the boat was " forgotten". Then we moved from round the Island to places of interest. The pictures below depict some of those moments. 

Learning about how the natives in the times past used an iron bar to remove the chaff from the coconuts for further processing   

 One of the Tourists trying his hands on what had just been learnt

 Coconut water on display for those interested to buy and enjoy

Hut where coconut oil is made traditionally   

 Preparation of coconut flesh for the making of coconut oil. 

  Drying of the coconut  flesh

 Processing dried coconut flesh (copra) into coconut oil. The bull goes round the traditional mill providing the energy needed to extract the oil

  Moving round La Digue   

   Watching the sea wayes        

  The Journey Back to Mahe 

When it was time to go back to Mahe, I wished I could go back by road or by air. Unfortunately, there was no road between the two Islands. Air travel is by booking ahead of time which I did not do. So the only option was to travel back  by sea.    I braised myself for it but on the journey back, I still felt sick a little. Over the years, I had nursed a desire to go on a cruise. However, my experience on the trip to and from La Digue almost ruined that desire because I was not sure I wanted to experience sea sickness again.   However, my hope of a cruise was rekindled by a conversation I had with a young lady who sat beside me on the trips to and from La Digue.  She was quite calm and not sick at all. So I asked her if she was used to travelling on the sea. She told me her saving grace was a Travel Band which she bought from the Pharmacy and that was the secret of her not being sea sick. I wished someone had told me that from the beginning. So fellow Steamians, if you ever want to travel on the sea, get yourself a travel band, wear it on your wrist and you are good to go.    As for me, I am looking forward to my cruise and you can be sure, when the time comes, I am going to wear the travel band on my two wrists!!!.   

If you missed Part I of my vacation experience in Seychelles; please click here   Watch out for the last final part of this unforgettable vacation.

For further updates, follow me @pearleu    Do not forget to vote  and resteem. Thank you.


Sort:  

This is lovely. Get something for me...lol

Thank you.

The pictures you snapped are lovely, your story clear. Nice work

Thank you

very nice maam, i havent left the shores on NG unfortunately, was planning on the lisbon steemfest,but thats been canned as well

Thank you @destinysaid for your vote. I appreciate you. I believe God's time is always the best.

This is amazing, i wish i can tag along ... 😥

Thanks. You are free to tag along.

Wow! Those pictures are lovely. You even touched that tortoise? I fit freeze though! Lols! Thanks for sharing this.

Thank you.

Chai...this a true definition of originality....Ma'am next time take Naija boy Euro along (smiles)

Euro, my boss, thanks I appreviate you. Grateful for all your assistance and encouragement.

my my my, this is beautiful. I cant wait for more of your posts. keep it up

lovely narration. now I really feel like taking a vacation amd of cause on a boat trip. sorry anout feeling ill along the way, its an addedr experience...

Thanks , I wish you a nice experience any time you decide yo go. Dont forget the travel band.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64912.75
ETH 3524.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42