THE SEYCHELLES: A BEAUTIFUL AND AMAZING PLACE TO BE - PART 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Hello, Steemians, today, I wish to share with you my holiday experience on the beautiful Islands of Seychelles. .
Some Basic Facts About Seychelles
• The Seychelles is an African
• Consists of over 100 Islands
• The population is about 100000 people
• Mahe Island is the largest and houses the capital Victoria.
• About 90% of the population lives on the Mahe Island.
Please Come Along With Me!!!
My decision to go on vacation was borne out of curiosity about this Island located in the Indian ocean I have heard and read so much about how beautiful the shores and beaches are. Consequently, I wanted to experience first-hand all these things.
When it finally dawn on me to travel, family and friend asked questions such as; Where is this country located? Many were surprised it’s an African country.
Do you know anybody there? Are you going with a friend? Of course, I did not know anyone there and I was going alone. I just wanted to explore and experience first-hand amazing Seychelles. Come, let's go to Seychelles.

As my flight descended towards landing, I saw the blue ocean looking, beaconing and welcoming me to a place of nature’s delight. We landed on Mahe Island which houses Victoria the Capital of Seychelles. In my mind, I welcomed myself to an exotic and interesting vacation.
The Trip to the Hotel
The guy from the Tour Company was at hand to receive and convey me to the hotel where I resided for the next 10 days. As we moved through the narrow and winding roads towards the hotel, everything looked like a labyrinth of some sort I beheld, beautiful green vegetation interspersed with lovely flowers with an array of trees, shrubs and the like. To me, is was truly fascinating. It reminded of the rainforest in the southern part of Nigeria.

While still on the way to the hotel, in the midst of this very attractive scenery, as we inched towards the hotel, I saw houses, hotels in between the vegetation and the topography which was mountainous. On a few occasions, I thought may be the driver had lost his bearing or I was being “kidnapped” . Here was I in a strange land having this unholy thought. But I was wrong. As we transversed through the narrow and winding roads, within the hilly terrain, the trip from the Airport became more captivating and at the same time intriguing. At last, we arrived at the hotel sitting on a hill and the view around was beautiful to behold. I could see the sea in the distance looking very serene and I felt I was going to have a pleasant holiday. All around, I could see nature at its best.

The Morning After
In the morning, I woke up to the chirping and singing of the birds, everything was so natural. I was told I could take a walk down to the shoreline I saw afar off when I arrived the previous evening. Wanting to explore my surrounding, I took the “bait”. Walking down the hills, it was refreshing with fresh unpolluted air and the fragrance from the flowers, it was energising. I was told to follow the water of the spring that flowed quietly down the hill. Of course I did and I thoroughly enjoyed my walk.

Now to the moment of truth; coming back was herculean, I failed to envisage that on my way back I would be climbing the hills, which was I must admit the hardest for me. I had no other means of going back to the hotel and I regretted not thinking through the process of walking down and coming up from the beach.
Unfortunately, there was no taxi I could flag or use. Though there were buses for public transportation, where I was staying was not on their route. I did not have a number to call I just embarked on a tour of exploring my environment.
So, I was left with no other choice but to start my very slow journey back to the hotel. It was very tedious and tiresome. It took more than twice as much time that I spent walking down the hill to get back to the hotel.
Was I tired? I was exhausted. I must have burned so many calories that morning. Perhaps you next question would be if there was a repeat performance. The answer emphatically is NO!
Please look out for my next post as I continued my vacation in Seychelles. The journey by sea to La Digue the second largest Island and how it almost ruined my cruise ambition.
Dear Steemians, keep a date with me. To do this, please follow me for future updates @pearleu

Sort:  

It's really very beautiful.I really appreciate your effort and thanks a lot for letting us know.This is very informative.

Thank you.

Congratulations @pearleu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks I voted.

Hope u enjoyed ur holidays.

Yes I did, thank you.

Good one. I think I need to go and check this out on the African map.

Thanks, Seychelles and others like Mauritius, Madagascar etc are all considered part of Africa.

Lovely..... sorry is this you in the pix up there? if yes....wow...i could see u were chilling in that great atmosphere. Smiles

Thanks, yes its me taking in the serene environment.

Thank for this eyes opener

Thank you.

What a beautiful place to travel thanks for letting us know because i've not heard of this place before

Thanks for your comment. We all learn everyday!

Waooo,never knew it could be this beautiful

Yes, it could be. Thanks

very nice photos thanks and following you

Thank you. Also following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64582.42
ETH 3502.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46