14 Days in a Tent

in #travel7 years ago

I woke up to the sound of birdsong, crickets and footsteps of a little kangaroo. I'm nestled amongst a rainforest in North Queensland, Bingil Bay.
IMG_20170708_125721.jpg
Two weeks ago, I decided that I needed a holiday. I packed my stuff into my Honda CRV, and started driving North.., first stop Seal Rocks. A place I visit at least twice a year to camp. Such a beautiful place.

Next stop, Bellingen I met two awesome guys who played beautiful song on their guitar and sang around the campfire. We cooked a yummy coconut curry, had real, deep conversation and Shared Stories; such an incredible night.

Night 3 to 10 I was up in Byron Bay... One of my favourite places. I have family friends from Wales in the UK who live there now. They live on a beautiful big piece of land, up in the hills. With fruit trees, veggies in the garden and they're home it's totally self-sufficient with solar panels and water tanks. So inspiring!
IMG_20170630_070747.jpg
I spent my 6 days there with a friend, Gabby, in a tent near the centre of town. Each morning I would watch the sunrise, I did Lighthouse walks, whale watched from the shore, and explored this beautiful town. There's so much I love about Byron.. The people, The atmosphere and the energy.

Next, I drove to the Gold Coast. I met an awesome guy called Josh who had been living in his van for months, travelling Australia. We slacklined together and had some incredible conversation about life. We shared so many stories and spoke about goals, intentions and ideas together. Spending 6 hours with a stranger was pretty cool, at the end we felt like we known each other for years!.

Next morning was my flight to Cairns. I got on an early flight, my baggage was too heavy so they had to send that on a different plane lol, (probs cause of my tent!!!) and when I got to Cairns I took a bus 2 hours south to Mission Beach. Set up my tent in a beautiful place nestled among the rainforest, and instantly fell in love. IMG_20170706_184527_559.jpg

It's so bloody beautiful. The weather is warm, the birds are always singing and out, I'm living in a tent and meeting new people. I go swimming in the ocean everyday, always seeing you animals and honestly feel like I'm in heaven! Ive been eating fresh coconuts from the beach every day (which take at least half an hour minimum to get into!)

Yesterday I went snorkeling, it was the best day of my life! A humpback whale came right up to the boat- so breathtaking. I am going to share a story about this day next :-)
IMG_20170703_113147.jpg
14 days in a tent, 14 to go, and I'm absolutely loving it!!

IMG_20170709_153806.jpg

Sort:  

What a beautiful journey. You are lucky to have the time to take a holiday like that! Very few people will understand what it's like to actually crack a coconut in the wild. Damn near impossible!

Sounds like you are having a great adventure and meeting some interesting people. Enjoy the rest of your adventure with your tent living and share more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61615.30
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60