Defined by nature - Stop wishing to go and start going there!

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_6246.JPG
It all started with my nature loving girl saying:

"Hey, why not go to the mountains this week?"

I , being the one who usually takes walks only to work and back, immediately said:

"What? Mountains? Climbing? No thanks."

I know, I know, I'm a lazy pig. But before you judge me, the next day I found out I had some free time I could use, so I decided to make her happy and told her to plan out the weekend mountain trip (she LOVES planning, sometimes I think, even more then she loves me).

Two days later, we were on a bus to Nikšić, a small student town in Montenegro, 3 hours drive from home. I must say, just driving away from hard concrete streets, pale stone walls of boring office spaces, stressed tempo and even more stressed out people, made me feel a lot... calmer... centered.

IMG_6178.JPG

NOT SO BAD WOULD BE AN UNDERSTATEMENT

IMG_5984.JPG

For all the under appreciation Montenegro gets it really is a beautifull country. Even if you don't count the SECOND largest, deepest and biggest canyon in the world Nevidio, the OLDEST still intact european rainforest Perućica (or virgin forest, not sure about the english language technical difference), or the monumental magnificent monastery Ostrog built inside a rock formation, there is still a whole other range of nature and history you could visit. Not to mention that a liter of their famous šljivovica, homemade plum brandy costs 5 euros, and a half liter beer costs only 1 euro (or in STEEM 0.2053388090349076). Sweet brewy goddess of happiness!!!

BACK TO THE TRIP

IMG_6219.JPG

From Nikšić we took a shuttle bus to the Pivska mountain where we stayed in a comfy mountain home which is being kept in working order by the village folk living in the houses scattered around it. During WWII it was used by the Yugoslav army as a hospital and it even contains letters from Tito himself, who was once one of the most globaly and localy influental communist leaders.

IMG_6366.JPG

We spent 2 nights and 3 days there with food three times a day, warm beds and hot showers surrounded by the most beautiful, calming nature that just makes you forget everything except breathing.

IMG_6232.JPG

IMG_6132.JPG

IMG_6080.JPG

Going through the autumn colored fields and snow covered forests gives an unforgettable sense of place that rests not on any ideological, religious, national or racial foundation, but on a feeling of connectedness with LIFE itself. We are too hasty in defining ourselves by the symbols, institutions and borders that surround us in everyday life - we are focused on our own creations (religion, state, profession) so much that we forget the one thing that created us, Nature.

IMG_6069.JPG

NEVER FORGET - nature is a mother, a teacher, a friend and a child. Nature is life.

IMG_6167.JPG

FUNFACT - these kids believe in the Iluminati conspiracy and one of them even has his own drawn Iluminati called Bill who protects him from other Iluminatis. Trust me I'm not lying, I could never be so creative.

IMG_6258.JPG

IMG_6318.JPG

Sort:  

It looks like you had a really great few days away mate, I'm jealous. Cheers for the post and great pictures and write up.

Hey, thanks for the supportive comment!I see you're a wanderer, so if you ever get a chance to wander into Montenegro, don't doubt it just GO!

Great pictures. One more point for "to do list" - Montenegro mountains

Hey thanks!
Montenegro really is beautiful. I would recommend the Durmitor mountain... lakes, forests, valleys... Beautiful!

In your photos a combination of atmospheric winter and mountains is very noticeable. Incredible!

Thank you. I must admit it was mostly luck since I'm more of an amateur when it comes to photography. This just means that the atmosphere of nature in Montenegro is truly visible! You can feel it and see it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61932.16
ETH 3422.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49