West End Village - Roatan Island

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Half Moon Bay


West End Village is fronted by Half Moon Bay, a crescent-shaped bay with crystal clear water. From Half Moon Bay you can take a water taxi to West Bay for only a couple bucks.

Restaurants and shops line the street


The Village is filled with restaurants and bars, as well as cozy hotels, scuba shops and souvenir shops as well as shops for local artists to display their beautiful, distinctively Island work.

Quiet street by day


The restaurants run nightly specials including many island seafood specialties. In the evening West End is the Islands most popular night spot for tourists and locals alike.

Shops on one side of street, Half Moon Bay on the other


As you stroll down the street, enjoying calm waters of Half Moon Bay, you can peer into the shops and restaurants on the other side of the street as well. You can tell this street hasn't changed in a while, and you revel in the slow island pace.

with a street-side lychees vendor


Lychees is very tasty, you break it open and inside there is a white fleshed fruit with a pit. It is native to Honduras although I was surprised to find out they are not grown on the Island. You see them all the time for sale on the roadside as the locals love them and they are reasonably priced.

Close up of the fruit Lychees


Video of beautiful Half Moon Bay


Thanks for reading, please comment and/or follow.

Sort:  

Now I want to go there! And I love Lychees!

Thanks for the comment @papa-pepper! If you go I will want to show you around, maybe even stay at my place. I have beds for 7, plus the couches. I have to tell you my lychees story. The first time someone said I should try eating the "leaches," I thought of the "leaches" we fish with here in Wisconsin. I couldn't believe they ate them there. Then I was introduced to the fruit, and I was still really off as I thought they were raised under water for some reason. Maybe because it's an Island? Anyway, I finally tried one and like them, and found out Lychees grow on trees. But it wasn't until my last visit in November, that I learned they aren't grown on the Island, but on the mainland and brought over by boat. LOL - weird huh?

Wow... that looks like a pretty awesome spot. And what's particularly appealing is that it doesn't look like it's overrun by visitors, which tends to quickly bury any local authenticity in "tourist services."

Yes, you have it exactly right. It is still very quaint and appealing, not commercialized! You can get a local flavor here and enjoy the Island unspoiled. But it starting to gain in popularity. This might last another 20 years, we'll see. Until then it is an out-of-the-way paradise! You should come and visit. Thanks for the comment @denmarkguy.

Nice views. We have lychees as well, but they're called Mamon chinos. I like the taste but I don't enjoy eating them due to having to scrape the fruit off of the seed with my teeth. I usually just give up. But they have a great grape-like flavor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39