My Journey to Paradise - part 1

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

East end of Roatan Island


Roatan is the largest of the Honduran Bay Islands and is located in the western Caribbean approximately 40 miles off the northern coast of Honduras. I took the photo above from an airplane and you can see the island is surrounded by coral reefs and crystal clear water. Average air temperature is about the same as the average water temperature, 84 degrees. There are hundreds of dive spots making this a snorkel and dive mecca, but Roatan is also still very quaint and hasn't lost it's laid back Island appeal.

location of Roatan Island in Western Caribbean


Roatan Island is serviced by the Juan Manuel Gálvez International Airport and now has direct flights from Atlanta, Houston, Miami, Dallas and Toronto. If you are planning a trip to Roatan, I suggest a direct flight, it is more costly, but you avoid the overnight stay on the mainland. Honduras has a reputation for being dangerous, however, Roatan Island is very safe. Tourism is the major source of Island revenue and there are many cruise ships that bring passengers so the authorities are rigid in crime prevention.

with Ivis at the reception desk, Hotel Las Palmas


On my first visit to Roatan I stayed at Las Palmas, which is a seaside cabana style hotel. The tranquility and peacefulness there was devine. Quiet and far from the popular resorts and public beaches, yet offering hotel patrons the largest private beach on the Island. The hotel also has great food and beverages at their beach front bar and restaurant.

Las Palmas Hotel Cabanas



Las Palmas beach



Caribbean view from the beach bar


My main objective on my first Island visit was checking out Project Roatan 1. This is a development of affordable Condos and Townhouses located just outside the Islands capital city of Coxen Hole. The 4 bedroom 2 bath Townhouse I chose had yet to be built, offering us the low preconstruction price. To name a few of the reasons I loved it: excellent view of the Port of Roatan, affordable price, low HOA fees, and living in paradise didn't hurt either.

View from the Terrace of our Townhouse


At this time, fall 2015, I had been making mission trips to Honduras mainland for around 5 years. So this wasn't my first trip and by now my wife and I loved the country and the people. However, Honduras is a third world country, and I'll bet many developments begin, but then are never completed. What reinforced my confidence in the development and helped me pull the trigger was that HGTV happened to be filming a show featuring Roatan1' sister project, Las Palmas Residences. Much of the show was filmed at the Las Palmas Hotel where I was staying, and I met the couple from Canada who were the shows invited participants, JC and Felicia Rathwell. Since this time JC and Felicia have moved to Roatan and are promoters of the the seaside development, they have remained good friends of mine.

With JC and Felicia Rathwell while filming for HGTV


In future posts I will start at the beginning of our travels to Honduras, taking you on multiple mission trips to the mainland, before focusing back on Roatan, our Townhouse construction being completed, and what the Island offers visitors. On the mainland we will visit the World Wide Heart 2 Heart Children's Village and School, an amazing Ministry we love to partner with. Once in awhile I will also be offering a golf post mixed in!

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, if you like it please follow and travel to paradise again.

Sort:  

Thanks for your support @smooth!

Great to hear about the work you are doing there!

Thank you @snooway! It is a blessing to work with WWH2H.
You can see all that they do at this web address https://h2hcv.org/
Any questions, just ask me.

Thanks so much for the links Papa Bear, now I understand more..
It's a beautiful island....you found a paradise on earth.
God bless you and your family.

Hahaha - I finally saw your comment!!
MUAH - Bear Hugs for you !! x0x0x

hahaha you sent your old blog to me:)
and I read it, dug the old ones:) hehe
almost half year since I started steemit:)
Glad to have a papa here:)

Really cool to see this and see that HGTV was there recording! Nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44