Honduran Highway - Safe or unsafe?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I took this photo traveling on the highway in Honduras. We were going from San Pedro Sula in the Cortes Department to Concepcion del Sur in the Santa Barbara Department. Departments are like States here in the US, and along the way I had this grand photo opportunity. Now as you can see this is a two lane highway, and in Honduras this is rare, meaning this is a major thoroughfare. I recall traffic buzzing around the truck in the photo, but regardless the truck was traveling at least 45 MPH, maybe more. I can remember thinking to myself, there is NO WAY I'm riding up on top of that load of sugar cane on this crazy Honduran Highway. But this is just every day conditions in Honduras.
Please comment on these safe? or unsafe? conditions. What would OSHA say?

If you like this please follow, more great Honduran content to come! Thanks!

Sort:  

Hi! We hope to discuss your post today on our podcast!
Feel free to join us at 3pm CST / 9pm GMT at http://steemittalkpodcast.com!

Thanks @steemittalk! That would be awesome! I'll be listening.

Nice! My s0n is Honduran, Spanish, Black-American Although Honduran is a form of hispanic ;)
The mother of my child's father seems to look Black(american) when you first lay eyes on him, but after getting to know him you can tell the difference. Accent is quite something ha!
And OSHA would have a heart attack ;)
IMG_4117.JPG

Thanks for your comment @tradz! I've met a lot of different people in Honduras and on Roatan. It's definitely hard to tell heritage at times. The Honduras I have met are generally very nice, most are happier than American's although they have less material things.

Exactly ;)

Nice photo! OSHA would be handing the trucking company large fines and suspensions!!

Those guys probably ride like that every day there.

yeah they need that lol 0ver there like they in the Circus ha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34