How I Dust Sealed My 4x4

in #travel6 years ago

Due to age my 80's dust sealing, especially at the back, was pretty bad. During one of my earlier trips the load at the back of the wagon was packed with thick layers of dust. Most of this was coming through the bottom end of the tailgate. The 33" tyres kicking up all the fine dust found on outback tracks.

At first I replaced the original factory rubber seals but that did not solve the problem entirely. To get is completely sealed I installed a self adhesive foam strip. This worked a treat. The real test came during my recent outback trip along the Oodnadatta track (in South Australia) where I drove close to 700km on dusty roads. Not a spec of dust came through the backend. Any dust that got through was when we had open widows whilst driving.

My website https://www.overlandjournals.com

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by OverlandJournals from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90