My families DREAM vacation to Iceland!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Last year our family was way long overdue for a vacation and we had NEVER been outside of Canada. Most people enjoy tropical vacations in Jamaica or Cuba or Florida but not this girl. My very favourite dream place to visit on my bucket list was Iceland and the itch became unbearable. After some big changes in our lives it was time to start living! 😎

So I did it! I booked the tickets for my husband, 2 daughters and I! August 2 to 14th 2016. I had so much fun planning and researching all of the things I wanted to do and see! I understood that Iceland is one of the most EXPENSIVE countries to visit since it's an Island in the middle of nowhere. Things cost so much more since almost everything has to be shipped in. My plan was to travel as cheap as we can.

IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST DECISIONS I COULD HAVE MADE!!!

Waterfalls, hot pots, hot springs, sheep EVERYWHERE, Iceland horses, tons of lava fields, mountains and cliffs, puffins, seals, volcanoes, glaciers, I could go on forever! There was just so much to see in our short 12 day visit. Here are some of our most memorable photos. If anyone has thoughts of going I'd love to share some of our experiences!


On this day we set off exploring moss fields that led the the ocean. What we didn't know is that it went on FOREVER! Here we are resting before we set off again! :)


The moss is incredible soft and warm on our bare feet!


The homemade wool sweaters there are GORGEOUS (and expensive)!!!


Our first day in Reykjavik we came across a Pride Festival! It was so much fun!!! :)


Our view from our favourite cabin stay!


Sheep EVERYWHERE in the mountains!


This was one of my favourite waterfalls. Not the biggest but a small quiet spot in the mountains. Crystal clear waters you could drink from!


Our horseback riding tour through a glacier river was my ultimate highlight! <3


Our last day at our favourite rental cabins! It was our cheapest rental but best stay. There were actually 2 cabins with a hot pot in between. If I go back (I mean when I go back), I will stay here again!


We finally made it to the Vatnajökull Glacier but didn't have enough time to explore as much as we wanted! It was definitely a site to see even just from the road!


PUFFINS! :D


Driving through rivers to get to one of our cottages!


VERY hot spring!


Cheers from The Blue Lagoon! ;)

If you are thinking of going to Iceland I would VERY highly recommend it! I can't wait to go back!

Lori

Sort:  

Nice pose by smiling horse now "get off my back"

Awww shit! Gotta hate when that happens!! 😳

That place is ....

OMG Im so jealous! Great post. Thanks for sharing

Thank you! I know I posted a lot of pictures but I couldn't stop! I have so many that I love!

I looked at all of it! You should post more!
following you now!

Aww Thank you! I'll do the same 👍

Oh thanks! You are awesome! upvoted!

Fabulous pictures, @otterbeme! Makes me want to go even more!

wow the place is good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60932.34
ETH 3380.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50