Bluest River - A Perfect Day in Switzerland

in #travel7 years ago

If you Carpe Diem enough, hopefully you have THAT moment. You know- that moment where, barring the excessive selfies, all is right with the world. That moment frozen in time, where you feel deep down – maybe even in your soul –that you are exactly where you are supposed to be. That moment when you are immediately overtaken by a raging torrent of emotion. Gratitude. Hope. Love. Peace. Sunshine- that one might be more of a picture than a feeling- but they say that you think in pictures, so it makes sense to me. I felt sunshine that day in my soul.

We were together, the four of us that make up our happy little family unit.

Well, three happy and one sixteen year old.

Forgetting our familial roles, we all played like children together: walking along the river bed, dancing like hobbits on the hills of the Shire to the music from a pocket-sheathed cell phone, stumbling around cow patties in the road happily gifted by free roaming cud-chewing beauties. An extravagant bouquet of wildflowers blanketed the valley floor, leaving us to glory in God’s excessiveness. The sounds of waterfalls, cowbells and the river engulfed us like the clouds that rose from the river floor a few hours earlier. It was almost like nothing existed outside this breathtaking valley in Switzerland – like the best dream you've ever had.

Dancing like hobbits:

Yup – I totally stepped in cow poo.

This valley. So beautiful.

It was there, by that river where we played and stacked rocks for hours that I had THAT moment.

It's etched into every cell in my body. That picture, that moment where my world was perfect. There, by the bluest river I've ever seen.

(all pictures were taken on our family trip June 2016)

Sort:  

You brought tears to my eyes....I know that "moment".....recently in BC a few weeks ago. Thanks for sharing !

It really is such a surreal feeling. So glad this took you back to it! :)

Gorgeous! And what a backdrop for that perfect moment...

It really was. I hope it stays just as clear in my memory forever. Thanks for reading!

I love these pictures. I need to wander more!
Thanks for sharing this beauty.
I'm inspired.

Inspired!
That's the best I can hope for. Thanks so much!

Fantastic imagery.

Thanks so much! It's nice to hear.

Congratulations on a charming 2016 memory to share. May you have many more in the new year. Cheers.

Thank you for such kind words and wishes, @jacobts. You too have a wonderful new year!

Great Switzerland!
Upvoted and followed you!

cheers from Zurich!

Untitled.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28