#TRAVELVLOG1 Amazing trip to Jogyeosa Temple, seoul

in #travel7 years ago

A year ago I went to korea for official reason. My office friend,Bikhyat suggested me not to forget to visit jogyeosa temple and to take photographs. So I go to jogyeosa temple as suggested by my friend.

Now let me introduce Jogyeosa Temple.Jogyeosa Templeis located in the center of downtown Seoul. So it is very convenient to look around the Korean temple which is located in the mountain usually. There are many factions in Buddhism in Korea. Jogyeojong is the representative faction in Buddhism. Jogyeosa is the main temple of Jogyeojong.You could see Jogyeosa by the street. Due to the location in the downtown, the deployment of the temple building is little bit different from ordinary temples of the mountain.

Among these differences, there was one major thing. I couldn't discover the mountain god's building. The mountain god building was a proof that the acknowledgment of Buddhism in Korea was difficult at early stage. Acceptance Buddhism is presently expanding gradually.
Actually Korean traditional religion was a shamanism which had strong connection with that of Siberia.. So Koreans thought they originated from Central Asia and Siberia.
You can also find lots of Shamans in Korea. Moodang is a Korean name of Shaman.

The mountain god's building was an aftereffect of arrangement between the conventional religion and Buddhism.

In the interim, I went into Jogyesa sanctuary. As entering, I discovered One thing intriguing. That was the 4 Heaven King's statue. Normally 4 paradise rulers were communicated in wooden statues and illustrations.

Here in Jogyeosa temple, the 4 paradise Kings were made up with the steel. It was first time I had seen the 4 paradise ruler of the steel.

It resembled that was a cutting edge understanding of 4 paradise ruler. In any case it was intriguing..

There was a tall white pine tree. The tree trunk was amazing and unbelievable. That was as white as it was colored with white colors. I became confused and asked local Korean people of there about the color of pine tree trunk. I don’t know Korean language and local people don’t know English so there was little bit hardness in communication. But I translated English to Korean using GOOGLE and confirmed
that the tree trunk was natural.

Close to the Main Building, there stood a high Zelkova tree. Around zelkova tree, there were heaps of lights petitioning God for their bliss.

In front of the main building, there was a pagoda. The style of pagoda was little bit different from other pagodas what we had see in the mountain temple.

The style was similar to that of Tibet. I had looked that kind of pagoda in other temple.

Why they made the Tibet style pagoda in this headquarter temple in Korea.
Actually the pagoda is a symbol of Buddha in Buddhism.
As a matter of fact the pagoda is an image of Buddha in Buddhism.

One man bowed and prayed the pagoda. He was exceptionally genuine. It was exceptionally amazing for me, so I was looking him for some time.

Weather you believe in Buddhism or not, it would be interesting to look around the Buddhist temple in downtown.
So that was my experience to visit jogyeosa temple. I enjoyed a lot and saw amazing and beautiful things. That was a great experience being there.

Sort:  

upvoted full, nice post, me fallowing you can also for every time check

Really interesting information here. I never knew that the early religion in Korea was shamanism, or that it had a connection with Siberia. Thanks for sharing.

welcome
i am glad that you find my post informative
you can help me by restreaming and upvoting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27