Travel Stories of Colombia | My Relaxing Spa Day at Hotel Movich in Pereira

in #travel7 years ago

My mother and I visited Hotel Movich for lunch and an Aromatic Massage therapy.

If a good experience is worth a thousand words, then let me share it with you in that way along with a few good pictures too. The following photo-journey, will have you craving the experience of a Colombian spa treatment in high end facilities and genuine customer service!

Sometimes in Unlikely Places, We Find It's a Woman's World After All

My relationship with Carmen the service manager started via word-of-mouth via another woman who my mother chats with every Friday at the English & French Conversation Group. Some of the best business in the Coffee Axis, is done - just like that, between women and via word-of-mouth.

Hotel Movich - Pereira, is run by a strong female executive team which has added a very stylish and well-curated atmosphere to the luxury-hotel picture. I realized this, when the service manager, Carmen Marquez contacted me to come and visit them. We worked out some comp packages and here I am telling you what a nice experience it was. Because it was.

Bold colors, feminine accents and a masculine earthy finish would stylize the eco-appeal of this upscale hotel. The architecture is simplistic, yet very artful with natural lighting and airflow. The amenities are top-notch and definitely gossip worthy. You should see and hear the fountain in the main lobby - you might for a minute imagine you are in a soothing forest instead.

Lunch

Restaurante Ebano, is a curated experience that allows patrons to relax with a touch of formal elegance. The plates are international standards infused with local flavor and culture.

Much like the genteel American South, the upper-class of Pereira are very formal yet relaxed in their comportment and attire. Men here wear colorful button up shirts, with slacks, and maybe a suit-coat with tie. Or, they might wear a suit coat but for the the very Latin "slightly unbuttoned" look. Due to the tropical weather, lighter clothing like linen and chambray, are always appropriate. Women will typically wear light colorful blouses, skirts and may or may not opt for a more formal touch like a suit coat. Accessories are bold, colorful and full of the tropical colors of our local environment.

I opted for the Special of the Day: Robalo, or a type of sea bass commonly served in the Caribbean coast of Colombia. It was grilled with a panela and salt accent. The sauce was a coconut milk and fine herbs reduction. Around the outer edge were grilled veggies which were soft enough to each but crunchy enough to retain their proper texture without the oily greasy-ness of grilled-to-death diner veggies. Plate: 45,000 COP (~ $15 USD)

That is to say, everything was excellent. I would recommend this plate. My meal was well-complemented with natural sour sop (or guanabana) juice (in water) with the perfect amount of sweetness. I don't like sugary juice, I prefer as little sugar as possible.

My mother ate Salmon with a cherry & dried fruits reduction sauce atop a bed of grilled veggies. There were crunchy rods of toasted coconut, the tangy sweetness of the fruit sauce, and the perfect softness of a well-prepared salmon filet. With that she had natural mango juice, also in water. Remember, in Colombia you must specify whether you want water or milk as the base liquid of your juice. Plate: 42,000 COP (~$14 USD)

Of course, if you are going to pamper yourself a little, why not add dessert too?!

I chose the profiteroles. The pastry was light and flaky, the filling creamy without being sugary, and the sauce a sharper more tangy contrast to the softer flavors of the pastry. Add to that some ice-cream and you will be in heaven! Cost: 12,000 COP (~ $4 USD)

And, who can have dessert without a warm cappuccino on the side? The coffee was a bold medium roast, that is to say almost on the dark roast side. Yet, it had a very neutral almost sweet finish. The perfect complement to the sweetness of my pastry. Cost: 5,500 COP (~$2 USD)

My mom chose the Tiramisu. It was a very simple, yet creamy selection. Not so much the traditional Italian tiramisu, more of a Colombian cream concoction which combines the basic flavors into a sweet cream trifle. Cost: 8,000 COP (~$3 USD)

Carmen, our host - joined us for coffee and desserts. She chose her favorite, the Movich Milhoja - a local favorite. Made from scratch by the on-site pastry chef, the custard was sweet, the icing sugary and the pastry a perfect flaky almost graham cracker type of separator for the custard and cream. Cost: 10,000 COP (~ $3.50)

Spa

Spa Movich is the whole package. Each treatment comes with complementary access to the "zona humeda" or humid zone. All visitors are welcome to visit the dry sauna, the turkish sauna and the jacuzzi upon the conclusion of your relaxation therapy. I really liked the Turkish sauna because of the fresh Eucalyptus they had in there...it was nice to inhale the vapors from it combined with the humidity.

There are several relaxation and therapeutic treatment options at Hotel Movich which I doubt even many of the locals are very familiar with.

Here are the 3 most popular massage treatments:
#1 Aromatherapy Relaxation Massage
#2 Muscle Recovery/Sports Therapy Massage
#3 Volcanic Rock Massage & Pain Therapy

We opted for the Aromatherapy Relaxation Massage, a 40 minute massage, with essential oils and relaxation aromas. 80,000 COP (~ $27 USD)

We were asked to remove our clothing and lie facedown. The massage therapists then cover us up with towels and work on isolated areas of the body. The towel gave me my privacy and dignity, the masseuse gave me professionalism and self-confidence. As a good massage therapist should. I never felt insecure or uncomfortable. It was so refreshing - because sometimes you don't get that, and it can really make you feel self-conscious and a bit weirded out.

The treatments themselves were well-worth it. I went through a lot of massage therapy during my pregnancy. Later, I switched to another girl who did Thai Massage because the first one was very inconsistent, and at times didn't really seem to be reading me well. The Aromatherapy Relaxation massage that we did was the perfect blend of relaxation, pressure point stimulation and hand pressure/consistency.

Especially when she started to work on my feet, back and neck, I kept getting these cold chills. Not the uncomfortable kind, more like delicious shivers. It was stimulating without being too much. Truly I haven't really had a massage that was ever quite like this one. And I would recommend it.

After we wandered over to the sauna and finished up with a quick rinse. They used very neutral, yet fragrant, almond oil. It was especially nice that we were able to rinse off after, and not risk getting our clothes greasy.

We left feeling full, relaxed and yet completely refreshed.

Tip: Be sure to drink LOTS of water after the massage, I could feel the pressure point stimulation it activating my lymph system and adrenal glands. I drank a whole liter by the time I went to bed that night - but in the morning I felt fresh and energized!

If you are passing through the Coffee Axis of Colombia and you need some rest and relaxation before the next leg of your trip - then take a rest at Hotel Movich for the perfect spa day!

Conclusion

As soon as you step in the door at Movich you are made to feel like a princess. The security guard/bellhop greets you with a genuine smile and a nice greeting welcoming you to the city.

The hotel lobby environment is soothing, yet with different areas that allow you to modify your interaction according to energy level you want including a coffee shop, couch area or private conference rooms. Did I mention that they have a snazzy upscale bar with gourmet cocktails, and some of the best local live bands in Pereira?

Add this to your travel bucket list - you won't regret it!

One of the best travel experiences, at a reasonable cost for services provided, that I have had in the Coffee Axis!

If you found this information helpful, interesting and unique, help me share it by UPvoting, REsteeming and a nice Comment!

Sort:  

Great post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.

Thanks for taking a moment to read and support my work! It was such a fun experience too!

Congratulations @openmindedtravel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

a very nice and enjoyable time!

Welcome! Nice to see you around here!
I'm a food blogger and food professional photographer, please follow me @sugi if you are interested in food and travel blogging :)

Hey, thanks for checking out my story! I am definitely going to follow you cause I love food!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65230.32
ETH 3477.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37