Last places in Hue and the beauty of Hai Van Pass

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1882.JPG
I started my day with the Thien An Monastry. I love how this Christian church still keeps eastern features like the dragons.

IMG_1900.JPG
The Kim Dai Pagoda is a hidden little monastery where a few monks live in peace. They have found a good balance between the life of monks and are still able to engage in a normal life. There Pagoda is about 10km from Hue City Center.
They invited me to eat with them. The food was consisted of tofu, rice and vegetables.

IMG_1898.JPG
Thich Dong Nguyen was very kind and told me a lot about his life and meditation. He is learning English in Hue with some Foreign teachers.

IMG_1916.JPG
Next stop was the Khai Dinh Tomb. Khai Dinh was the 12th Emperor of the Nguyen Dynasty and only reigned for 9 years.

IMG_1905.JPG
The tomb is constructed like an European castle of the middle ages. There are five terraces which are connected by 127 steps.

IMG_1924.JPG
Hai Van Pass is on the other side of this mountain. Behind me is a beautiful lake and on the left the city Lang Co.

IMG_1929.JPG
The Pass itself is not very steep(max 8%), but it has a really amazing view. I was standing there for minutes enjoying it.

IMG_1939.JPG
In my luggage is almost everything I poses. The buildings show the highest point of the Pass where you can drive.

IMG_1940.JPG
The view from the highest point. I love looking back or forward and seeing the road I just have or will drive on.

IMG_1944.JPG
It was already getting dark at 5:15 pm as I took this picture of the other side. The pass is about 15km long and the weather changed very fast. For 5 minutes it was raining then it stopped, then it rained again and stopped again. This kept going for 1 hour with strong wind in between.

I arrived in Da Nang at 6pm. The City is beautiful by night. Many neon lights in different colors. Unfortunately my phone camera is not good enough to capture the beauty of it. I found a really nice Hotel 150.000 Dong(6€) for a very big room plus 50.000 Dong for well needed laundry service and it was finished in 2 hours.

Safe travel
Cosmin

Sort:  

I was in Hue in March this year. The tombs are really interesting. Upvoted. Thanks for posting.

hai van pass is one of the best roads in #vietnam hands down! Hue, I havent managed to visit yet. Where you off to next @ontheroadagain?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94