If You Could Only Get 1 More Plane Ticket In Your Life, Where Would You Go? Hawaii Vs. BalisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Hawaii Vs. Bali

This is my objective comparison of the 2 places
img

My experience is obviously perdjudice based upon my experience and situations.

I lived in Hawaii for over a year (10 months on the Big Island and 3 months on Maui)

I've been in Bali for over 2 months

The positives about Bali in respect to Hawaii:

  • It is much more international than Hawaii, I'm making friends from all over the world
  • It's incredibly easy and inexpensive to get around, the islands are all connected by inexpensive boats and ferries
  • I'm making connections here like crazy, some very high level people.
  • It appears a lot of people who make it through Ubud are leaders at home in their local communities. Many people here have large yoga followings, music followings, etc and come here to re-charge. The influencers from around the world seem to congregate in Ubud
  • There does appear to be a lot of resources here and people who have done well for themselves

The positives about Hawaii in respect to Bali

  • It's easier to find awesome permaculture community type living situations
  • It much is easier to get fresh fruit and the farmers seem to know when to pick it. In Bali, almost all of the fruit is picked very under-ripe and it appears the farmers are clueless.
  • It's not overpopulated in the way that Bali is.
  • Nobody in Hawaii will lie to you in order to sell you things
  • Hawaii feels less transient (I know this may be difficult to beleive). I think it's because the visa thing. Many people only come here for 1-2 months, I found in Hawaii the people living there would stay for much longer.
  • Ecstatic dance is much better
  • The community hub is close to the ocean and everyone goes to the naked beach after dance, the community goes in different directions after dance on Sunday in Ubud. :(
  • Everyone here seems to be happy, relaxed and says hi. It's hard to be open like then when people on the street are screaming "Taksi!" and "But this, cheap, cheap!!" constantly.
  • People aren't intrusive and won't come up to you and ask "where you from", "where you going". I get this constantly in Bali and I find it offensive.
  • It's sustainable and the people here don't live off of plastic and there isn't garbage all over the beaches. When I look around Bali, I often think the people must not respect or value their land.

img
This is a Tuesday afternoon in Ubud, my friend who lived in New York and here with me in Ubud told me that Ubud reminds him of New York

I miss Hawaii and prefer it to Bali. I'm very happy to be in Bali for the time being and it feels important that I stay here for some more time but ultimately I dream of being back in Hawaii. I can't think of anywhere I would rather be.

Thanks for reading, please upvote and resteem

Sort:  

At the point in my life where I'm about to drop out of college buy a one way plane ticket to Hawaii and live in a wooden hut in a palm tree

Ahhh, I know many people doing that right now :)

Ohh I wish I could do that too.. ❤️😍

Congratulations @onecliffd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Bit late, but I just gave you a little up and resteem ;)

Neither? I'd take a cruise ticket to Panama. As long as the TSA exists, I'm not taking a plane unless there's no other choice. ;-)

Haha, good point @finnian

That is a tough question. I always wanted to visit Hawaii... but life brought me to Bali a few weeks back. Now back in Europe, but decided to fly back to Bali next month for a few weeks. So I guess my answer is Bali... However, never been to hawaii, so I have to keep it on my bucket list ;)

You'll have such a good time, there are things in Bali you cannot experience in Hawaii. Have fun :)

So far, I have found in Bali the best international spiritual community.
Now there is a subject which is almost "Taboo" because no one talks about it... What is the relationship between people from Indonesia, and all those foreigners, who created their "Spiritual community" ?...
Because it is a Westerner's community, which does contain very few native people from Bali...
What does the native people from Bali think about it, how do they react to it, How do they feel with all those people with their Smart phones, Tattoos, piercings, yoga mats, kumbucha, and vegan diet, building houses, and coming to live on their lands ?...
There is truly 2 populations, 2 economies, 2 cultures, now in Bali.
Are native people from Bali Happy about it ?
Does it benefit them ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90