Spirit of Adventure #2 - Peoria Park District, Camp Wakonda - Hike around Lake Davis

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemit friends:

Travelling out to camp in Peoria during the summer time was a very refreshing trip away from Chicago and the fast city life. I was grateful to go camping this year in the summer rather than during mid-October when the air becomes very crisp and a bit frosty sometimes. Before the group activities began for that day, I went for a hike around the camp grounds. 

I stayed in this wooden lodge which was also the general lounge area where breakfast, lunch, and dinner were served: 

I heard that the campsite had a small lake nearby called Davis Lake, where we would go canoeing, so I decided to go look for it ahead of time. I turned around and began walking away from the lodge: 

I came across this fork in the road and of course had to take it. Who knows where it would lead to?: 

Ah, forbidden area. No, I didn't climb the fence. I just snapped a few photos and walked right back to where the fork was and took the larger road: 

After this second fork in the road, not only did I find the lake, but I also found my friend Sylvie! The lake was beautiful; it reflected all of the trees and other greenery that were gathered around it. 

This morning walk was one of those walks where it's so bright out that when you snap some photos, the photos turn out dark. (Darn it, the light is in the wrong place. Sun, you need to move.) I know that normally people would wear bright colors during summer, but guys, I had to snap some top secret photos of Sylvie (that's my poor excuse for wearing black). 

The path continued on past the wooden tables: 

I found another fork:

This too led uphill and circled Lake Davis:

There was even a cute little bridge hidden near the end of the path which cut through tall grasses: 

Well, they were tall for me because I'm kind of short... alright, I'm really short. But moving on, moving on!

Eventually the path led up to some familiar looking steps: 

I landed right back at the wooden tables after making this final upward climb. Here is where our journey ends for now. After the hike around the lake, I made my way back to the lodge just in time to help serve breakfast. 

Thanks for hiking with me! Til' next time.

~omega-not~


Sort:  

Love your pics and this post! Oh, and your cute pigtail braids! :) upvoted & resteemed!

Thanks Denise ^-^

Nice to see this travel log! My favorite shot was the plank wooden pathway. Had to chuckle at your rationale for wearing dark colors.

Thanks Joe! It was a great hidden area to take a nice morning stroll through.

The pics have come out amazing! That place is so awesome!! :O
Is it not dangerous to randomly walk through random forks? I can't help but think there's a serial killer wearing a mask, waiting for me in one of those bushes...
Either way, I love such places. Especially in the morning. <3
(now you'll probably be paranoid too, sorry in advance lol)

LOL I just saw your comment. Thanks! I'm glad you like the pictures! I'm actually still waiting for my professional camera to take even better pictures. I'm a ninja, remember? They won't even see me. I love places like these because of all of the stars you can see at night! I think that's my favorite part because in Chicago, there's too much light pollution.

Heyy! I love stars too! It's always been in my top 5 dreams to sit on a grassy mountain top, on a quiet, breezy night and just, lie there gazing at those beautiful bunch of stars * - *
I'm glad you got to do that!
The pics of the pro cam are gonna be great! All those macro micro effects yumm yumm! ahahaha.

Also, teach me sensei...the waaaay, of....the nin-jaaaa.
lolol

It will depend, little nin-nin, if you are ready to give up everything to learn The Way.

Okay sensei, I am ready to learn The Way.
I shall give up everything.
Everything...even the Internet...The Internet.
...
except the internet :c oh no i've failed you ;-;
bows and runs away crying

Train more, you must.

still running away
vanishes into horizon

these shots are incredible :) :

Thank you @diegobusel :) the hike was outstanding. I wish I could've taken pictures of the stars too! So... many... stars. In Chicago there's too much light pollution to really see the stars. >.O I'm getting a professional camera sooooon! So the pictures will be even more epic. I can't wait! ^-^ ^-^ ^-^ ^-^

Lovely place for traveling.I am voting you.Please check my post.

Thank you! I saw your makeup and it looks great! I always just stick with simple makeup mostly because I'm always in a rush trying to get to places. I'm not too patient with it.

What a cool adventure! I love all the photos. It's beautiful!!!

Thanks djynn! I actually had an "oh, duh" moment when I found the path by the lake. I wondered, "Hm... where will this lead...?" Of course... it circled the lake.

Congratulations @omega-not! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49