Shanghai Sculpture Park Tour... (On National Chinese Holiday!!)

in #travel7 years ago

When in China, do as the Chinese do, right? Well, not exactly! LOL!

I had just moved to Shanghai, and was still staying at the youth hostel on the cool side of town... I was in the process of lining up a job teaching English, but on the holidays everything shuts down... To foreigners like me, it comes as a total surprise when a thousand more people are in line for a subway ticket, and the popular walking thoroughfare, Nanjing Road, resembles a river of people that you have to swim through...

So I went to the Sculpture Park to check it out... Watching the video again now, I am so pleased I said the word STEEMPUNK while talking about a sculpture... I am retconning that to now be something like, 'I knew it all along... Steemit is the future!'

it ended up being a really good time... I still roll on the floor laughing at some of the things I said, in response to all this fine art... It was me trying to understand what I saw, but knowing I had an audience and blurting out some spontaneous thunder... A few of the sculptures, I could not put into words... And if you hear the words facebook audience, just retcon it to be steemit...

I also took a bunch of still photography that day... Wish I had one of me sitting on the abacus laptop... I was timid to climb on it when I saw it... Only later did I see Chinese kids using it as their personal jungle gym, but I didn't get that on film either... Now I try to snap a shot of anything that grabs me... The moments I have missed, like a teenager skateboarding on the grave memorial of Sun Yat Sen... Lulz!

Tired Einstein.JPG
What Would Einsteem Say?

.

Zombie Rat.JPG
You can caption this, LOL!

.

Pet Master.JPG
Human Pets...

.

Leg Parade.JPG
Best Foot Forward!!

.

Buddha Full 2.JPG
Full Of Enlightenment...

.

Pig Fish.JPG
Multi-Breasted Pigfish...

.

Pig Man.JPG
Blending in with the locals... LOL!!!

If you ever visit Shanghai, it is worth going to the Shanghai Sculpture Park and Museum... It didn't even cost money! I think I walked back to the hostel that evening, both to avoid the crowded subways, and to become more acquainted with Shanghai... At every intersection there are ramps that go up to pedestrian overpasses, so it's pretty convenient if the weather is nice... If it rains or is too cold, you can find underground shopping malls that go for miles, or at least it felt that way! Someday I will post my streets of Shanghai at night video...

If you feel like this original content was worthy, why not upvote it and resteem it in a day or two? Follow me for more whacky travel adventures, from The Netherlands to Cambodia, to China, or couchsurfing across the USA... I also do art and write songs, and have books to publish... Help me find an agent!

imageedit_50_5833911325.gif

Sort:  

my friend colorful, fun photos and video :)
and nice writing. Thank you for sharing our beautiful day with us :)
you seem to have fun :)

Thank you so much! There were a lot of pics I held back,
so this post wouldn't be whale-sized, LOL!
IMG_5060.JPG

What a wonderful sculptures
It is very special.
Thanks for sharing!

wow lovely clicks.So much fun in this story.enjoy this very much.keep posting.May you achieve your dreams very soon.

That is encouraging, thank you!
Framed.JPG

Nice post! Let's help each other! Vote up in my post as I vote up in yours, what do you think?

(Out To Launch)
Groundscore.jpg

my visit in shengai was amazing i have seen all the pic its really amazing its like heaven on earth by the way nice photography

Did you ever take the tunnel under the river that has a crazy light show and cheesy music playing as you go? I filmed that, and will post it at some later juncture...
IMG_5024.JPG

You have some interesting ventures! Love you work!

@OriginalWorks

Would you ever live in an abacus?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @occupywallets to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62170.06
ETH 2415.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65