China So Fun!!

in #travel7 years ago

Beauty Exhibition.jpg

In 2014, I went to live in Ningbo, China... After a few beautiful months in smalltown environments, I moved to Shanghai and its subways, pollution, and beautiful people... When I first was in Shanghai, staying at a hostel, my American boss hooked me up with a side gig, to represent an Aussie beauty products company at a health & beauty expo... It paid more that teaching English, so I accepted...

That is where the photo above is from... I was just doing my job all weekend, until the neighboring booth's manager asked if I would come over and take a picture with his models... They were too shy to ask themselves, I guess... So I went over, and the manager even sent me a copy later on! The picture tells a funnier story than reality, for moments later I went back to my gig... I was pretty single my entire time there...

Che.jpg

I found these smokes outside a train station, one day... Pretty darn funny, I couldn't resist! China is more into Richard Marx, than Karl Marx, as far as communism goes... Or maybe Groucho Marx...

IMG_5038.JPG

I brought Stop Monsanto stickers with me to China and Cambodia... It was my secret satisfaction to stick them in random subway cars, or bathroom stalls... Still makes me laugh hysterically!

I also enjoyed the Shanghai Sculpture Park one day... Of course, I went on the national holiday, same as EVERYONE... Next time, I need to remember to simply call in sick from work! Actually, most everywhere in China felt like way too many people, but maybe that is just my spoiled western sensibilities...

Pig Fish.JPG

I am sharing the strange things I met, not so much the famous scenery or the classical architecture... I have pics like that, but when will you ever get to see a hundred-breasted-pig-fish with a cat-parrot on its shoulder?!?!? Hee hee, resteem THAT!

Pig Man.JPG

Pigs may be more symbolic than I realized! This was after fighting large crowds all day... It sums up my life in Asia... High octane, takes awhile to sleep it off...

Buddha Full 2.JPG

One more observation, and maybe it is more rampant in Shanghai, but peeps are getting FAT in China... Fast food, high fat, I don't know the exact reason, but I saw and was shocked... On top of that, they ALSO walk around in public in their pajamas... The men seal the deal with an exposed belly of the pajama shirt... (I was unable to get a picture!)

Wallpaper Fail.jpg

Meanwhile, my school put up wallpaper in my classroom... DERP! DERP! DERP!!!!! How difficult can it be, to just line up the pictures???????? It was likely the reason I left the smalltown school... My subconscious must have said if the town is capable of producing folks that silly, I dunno if I can help them! LOL...

Strange In A Stranger Land...jpg

Although I did have mellow travel experience, and special times in nature, this blog today is not about those moments... It's mostly reflecting the I-don't-care attitude that China inspired in me... I still have a 4-faced Buddha head made of wood that I bought on the street one day... I care about that...

Would I ever go back? Who can say? I have since made certain artworks that would likely get me on a no-go list... Here is an example!

LMAO.jpg

I hope you have a wonderful Monday... Wonderful every day... Be nice, and you will be happier in life...

RE STEEM (small).jpgYou know what to do!

Sort:  

very nice, good pictures

You should vote on the blog, since you left such a nice comment...

I have resteemed your post before. forgot to upvote, mistake corrected:)

No worries! Sorry if I sounded bossy... Thanks again for stopping by...

Thanks, I didn't really have a plan...

IMG_5124.JPG

awesome life man...i,m your new flower i will follow you and vote you plz follow me and vote me

There you're. You have much fun in China.

I was pretty poor, but had my own apartment and my needs were met... I lived near my school, in Pudong... That is the not-very-foreign side of Shanghai, so it was harder to make friends near me... I did find some mannequins, however!

IMG_5121.JPG

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @occupywallets to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67