Cambodian Sunset... (A Pictorial Journey)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Sunset.JPG
In 2015 I was fortunate enough to live in Cambodia for 6 months... I got an apartment, then a job as an English Teaching Coordinator for OpenNet, the up and coming Internet Service Provider in Phnom Penh... What a fun time I had on my bicycle, putting around from place to place... I earned USD and all the shops took USD, it was bizarre...

IMG_5356.JPG

For folks who have been to Phnom Penh, my apartment was on Street 172, right above a little Italian-ish cafe called La Dolce Vita... The picture above was my street... Not much to look at, so I entered my place through the cafe on most days... Once I went to a rooftop pool in a fancy hotel, just to take a picture of my place... Let me see if I can find it...

My place.jpg

I had some grand adventures, and a couple scary ones... But mostly I liked finding out of the way nooks and crannies, where normal people were just doing normal stuff... Except normal in Cambodia is people taking bucket baths on the sidewalk, or setting up a hammock between motorbikes for an afternoon nap...

IMG_5253.JPG

I carried my camera everywhere I went, because it was a place where weird stuff sprouts from... The palace at night is a spectacle, and I was a few blocks away so it was fun to goo see it often... They do love their neon!

IMG_5219.JPG

Once during Chinese New Year, I was riding down a street when I saw dozens of $100 bills everywhere... I knew they must be fake, but I grabbed up about $3000 worth, to draw on someday...

IMG_5292.JPG

Drawing on money is kind of my thing...

gandhi.jpg

So life in Cambodia was stimulating... No Tuk Tuk, thank you! (Tuk Tuks are the local taxi, a motorcycle pulling a rickshaw...) I found funny Engrish phrases on menus and cafe signs, which always tempted me to order it, just to see what the Fried Crap was!

Fried Crap.jpg

If you get a chance, get out and travel the world... It is the best way to spend money set aside for university!

IMG_5246.JPG
"Help me, Obiwan Kenobi! You're my only upvote!"
(All photos were taken by the author, Craig 'CMOR' Morrison while traveling...)

Sort:  

"Fried crap," that's hysterical! I'd have a field day with my camera in that country for what I have seen here. Would be fun.

Congratulations @occupywallets! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Those seem like some really cool experiences! Discovering new things in foreign countries. It's really smart you brought your camera with you everywhere to capture the moment!

Followed!

I need to upload some video to youturd... I have one from the back of a moto, just flowing through traffic... Sometimes it is hard to convey just what it's like, so visuals hurray!

IMG_5279.JPG

That is awesome! I’ve been there too!!!

I met SO MANY friendly foreigners along the way! Lots of Australians, and there are like a million Chinese there too... Where did you go there? I only went to Siem Reap, was too poor or too stoned... Always wanted to go to Kampot, the river by the sea?

IMG_5288.JPG

Very nice, please visit blog and vote me

good post brother ... Happy New Year @occupywallets

@OriginalWorks

Have you ever heard Cambodians speaking Khmer? Do you think they sound like Ewoks from Return Of The Jedi? Was George Lucas being a racist?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @occupywallets to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65