Banaue took my breath away!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0381.JPG

I have been travelling quite a lot these past few week. Every weekend I am in a new place, but last week was one of my favorite destination. Finally, in my naked eye, I have seen and experience the beauty and magic of our very own Banaue Rice Terraces!

DSC_0391.JPG

DSC_0392.JPG

The Banaue Rice Terraces (Filipino: Hagdan-hagdang Palayan ng Banawe) are terraces that were carved into the mountains of Ifugao in the Philippines by our ancestors of the indigenous people. They are frequently called the "Eighth Wonder of the World". It is commonly thought that the terraces were built with minimal equipment, largely by hand. The terraces are located approximately 1500 metres (5000 ft) above sea level. They are fed by an ancient irrigation system from the rainforests above the terraces. And, it is said that if the steps were put end to end, it would encircle half the globe! (source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Banaue_Rice_Terraces)

DSC_0426.JPG

The feeling of finally seeing it personally is a dream fulfilled for me. It was during my elementary days that I was acquainted with Banaue Rice Terraces, but then, I never would thought that I will get to see it live, because of the distance and the convenience of going there. But we made it happen with my high school barkada! A month of planning and weeks of saving just to finally experience one of the great works of our Ancestors -- and everything was worth it!

This trip made me realize that the Philippines is too beautiful not to be explored. It has both a magic and a familiar feeling that we should all strive to experience. Banaue inspired me to explore more! Experience more and see more of our country!

Until my next adventure!

XOXO,

Mariel

DSC_0441.JPG
DSC_0440.JPG

My friends for life!!!

Upvote, resteem, comment! Thank you so much for your continuous support!

28343008_10214314894202506_749483724_o.png

Sort:  

Indeed there are lots to explore about Philippines! Thank you for sharing @obregonmariel

Thank you Kuys! :)

Wow place looks epic !

Nice post mariel. Keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58006.10
ETH 3098.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43