Walking on Glaciers : Iceland

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Vatnajökull Glacier, Iceland.

I can't describe how great it felt up there. We had hiked up for about two hours when we finally reached the peak, and it was well worth it. It was my first hike in Iceland, and really my first real hike in my whole life. When we reached the peak it was just pure peace. I felt so close to the icy blue Icelandic sky; when I looked up I felt a rush of calmness shoot through my body.
Seeing the glacier was even more insane. It was like a frozen river pouring out of a mountain...which, it was. The white of the ice at the top slowly grayed until it turned almost black at the bottom of the mountain, where it melted. Vatnajökull is the largest glacier in all of Europe. I still can't get over the fact that I saw a real, moving glacier. It was so beautiful, no pictures, no words, will ever come close to seeing it with your own eyes. I feel like, with almost all the world's glaciers melting and receding, it is really important to see one while you can.
I have never felt so close to Earth. It was so quiet up there, so clean, wild, pristine, and happy.

HELP FUND MY TRIP TO ITALY THIS SUMMER!!! GO TO: https://www.gofundme.com/getjessetoitaly
****Im 14 years old, that's why I need the help (:

Sort:  

Wow, this looks impressive...and I like your channel as well...will follow it.

Wonderful post. How beautiful it must be to see a glacier in person!

Wow, I love these photos. The glacier is beautiful!

looks warm and chilly at the same time

It was actually pretty warm for a glacier!

The glacier is so amazing. Cool post.

It is so beautiful up close.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01