Lewis and Clark Monument Revisited-The Views Never Disappoint

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


Lewis and Clark Monument-The Most Amazing View of Omaha, NE. A place I suggest you visit if you are ever in the area.

1519183306946.jpg

The back side of the Monument. Please make sure to click the links to get the most from this post.
Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art

I am quickly growing to love the Loess Hills along the Missouri River in Western Iowa. The Loess Hills are a geological feature that only exists in Iowa, a small portion of Northwestern Missouri and China. Even though the Bluffs occupy both sides of the river, this feature does not exist on the Nebraska side. Click the link above to read why.

Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art

I have now visited the Lewis and Clark Monument four times and think it will be a place I frequent often. I am an avid sky watcher and record the Sunrise, Sunset and time lapses of the sky often and this is the best sunset view around that is accessible by the general public.


I love creating GIF's and cannot wait until more site's allow you to drop them straight from your device
Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art

There is a local tradition of putting a lock on the rail with the name of a deceased loved one. I assume it's so they can find their place of rest in the setting sun. Unfortunately there is limited room, so when the rails fill up, the locks are removed. They are allowed to remain for quite long periods of time though and there is a camera trained on the spot to deter vandals. The city goes out of their way to respect this tradition the best they can.

1519184600969.jpg

Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art


The Monument sits on top of the Bluffs, (noun-a cliff, headland, or hill with a broad, steep face. source.) with Big Lake Park below. It boasts a five mile bike trail that is heavily used and the loosely packed dunes of the Loess Hills has deep run off drains from erosion. These create chutes perfect for mountain bikers to navigate at quite high speeds. Night riding these trails is quite popular.

Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art

Don't let their size fool you. The steep inclines make for great moderate hikes that can rival hikes in the mountains. I am currently looking for more trails in the Bluffs and just hiked the Honey Creek Trail, which is part of the Chutes. A ski hill in the bluffs. It was a very serene hike that will be the feature of a future blog.

1519184975478.jpg

The trailhead, which is located at the NW corner of the Monument

Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art

Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art

The Monument commemorates Lewis and Clarks adventure and meeting with the Otoe and Missouri Indians. This was the first formal council of representatives from the U.S. Government and Western Indians. This is where the name Council Bluffs, IA comes from.

Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art

I am huge fan of reading reviews for everything. Research is key for me long before I ever buy a product, travel long distances for a hike and even for deciding the next skill I'll learn. For this reason I record as much footage as possible of everywhere I visit providing as many details as I can. I try to give the reader as full of a picture as possible, because this is what I would like to find when reading reviews.

Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art

Most places I visit will bring a multitude of photo's, video and even GIF's I create from that footage. Everything I post unless otherwise noted is copyright free and I grant you permission to use, alter or format copies however you like. I don't even require you cite me as a source, but would greatly appreciate it if you do.

1519187220385.jpg
Ornamental Decorative Divider clip art

I only create content that I am knowledgeable about or in the process of learning and will only bring you to places I have actually visited. All photography is shot by me on scene. Blogging for me is just a great way to present my photograghy, video's and GIF's. I hope you enjoy them.

Thank you for sharing your time with me.

Please make sure to get outside and record it for other's to enjoy.

#PayItForward because someone has done right by you.

And most importantly, help keep our area's clean by practicing Leave No Trace Principle's.

Line Dividers provided by;

Best Animations

fg-a.com

clkr.com


https://steemit-production-imageproxy-upload.s3.amazonaws.com/DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Audio Source-Hard Chaos Instrumental Rap Hip-hop Beat Ft. RedHookNoodles

Sort:  

As requested I have voted for you! 🎁 To call me just write @contentvoter in a comment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by NotConvinced from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I enjoyed your post tremendously. SO many photos, and the video was very cool!

You're a part of my Weekly Curation Journal, keep up the great work!

I am humbled my friend, thank you. Does Curie detail the reasons for rejection?

Very pretty gifs, I love watching clouds stroll across the sky, and especially in a sunset hue. The trail looks very interesting as well, a nice hike.

Wow that video i just have playing in the background as the sun sets. Very pretty. It's not completely obvious that it's a clickable video link, I would suggest adding some text to encourage people to watch it as well.

Oh dear. the locks on a fence thing. Not a fan of that :) Just clutter.

Thank you for the compliments and feedback. I will be putting a play symbol on the Dtube thumbnail. Thanks for stopping by, my friend.

I'm loving the effort that has went into this post.
Embedding the images was a great idea, adding so much to the body of text.

You definitely give the reader the best experience you can, great work.

Thank you my friend.

good post friend

Thank you. I had to edit it probably while you were reading it, so there are a couple of changes. I am still trying to figure out the Raw Editor.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=notconvinced
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=ifcx90gk


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Such a cool place! I would love to visit one day! Thanks for sharing :)

You are very welcome. Thanks for stopping by.😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67