The Best Chinese New Year Video Ever

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Okay, maybe not the BEST video ever. Let's be real here guys...

... I took it with my iphone 7 that I drop on the ground a lot. But I can guarantee that the smiles on these people's faces are contagious, so if you want to smile too, then watch this now (which, why wouldn't you want to smile unless you're afraid of laugh lines...and fun...am I right?).


So I already wrote a little bit about the Thai version of Chinese New Year a couple of days ago... but here's the full version of the story.

I like Chinese New Year because it's mid-February and it gives me a great chance to start over (since the resolutions to better myself that I made in January obviously failed haha).

It's like I get a second chance at starting fresh. Can some other country have a New Year in March, please??

I need a few chances to get things right, sometimes.

Anyway, if you wanna see how the Chinese celebrate... click the thumbnail to watch the video on dtube!

Because if a picture tells a thousand words, then a video tells a gazillion .5 words or something.

Plus, the smiling faces of the kids and the dog (yes... there's a smiling dog in there... I think he happens to be Chinese) are seriously contagious.

There's something about watching other people smile and be happy that makes me unable to feel sad.

You ever notice that? How when someone random smiles at you, you just can't help but smile back?

In case you're not a big video watcher, though, I'll put some pics up here just for you.

Here are some pretty red lanterns:

And some more, because obsession:

I know I promised a smiling dog, but you have to watch the video for that one. Trust me, this dog is happy, too though. He was just laying there with a fan blowing in his face:

Hands up for year of the dog, everyone!

This one also makes me happy:

See that red envelope in his hand? He's about to feed it to the dragon for good luck:

I love that I caught this facial expression! Someone pleeease caption this for me:

And here's me eating a scorpion pincher. I think it's a Thai thing...not a Chinese thing, though.

By the way, that thing is so hard it could break your teeth! Good excuse not to keep eating it, lol.

I thought it would be funny to include this photo because people say I look Chinese(ish) when I laugh.

Fun fact: I tell people that I used to be Chinese. Because when I was born until I was about 2 years old, you literally couldn't tell the difference between me and a Chinese baby. I need to find a childhood pic and put it up here for proof.

Anyway, here's the scorpion in all of its scorpion-on-a-stick-glory:

And because it feels rude to leave you with that image...FINE. Here's the smiling dog picture. You can have it, even if you didn't watch the video :) That way you can leave this page feeling happy instead of grossed out 😄


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice video @nomadicsoul as you said sometimes you see more through video. We visited Chinatown in Bangkok, but on Friday night. It was pretty hectic. Got some photos in and we'll upload our post later today :)
Glad you'd enjoyed the festivities :D

Thank you!!! I'm glad you liked it. I'll definitely check yours out. Where else in Thailand are you going to? Followed you :)

Well, we live here in Bangkok. Have been for the past year as Sam undertakes his masters here. We often take trips from this base to other SEA countries every other month for the visa runs that Becca needs to do. So, no constant travelling yet, that's the dream. What are your plans?
Following you too :)

I love traveling from a base. Currently debating if I should make Chiang Mai my base, or leave and go to Vietnam and other countries and then come back in October...

Some said it's not good to be here from now until October but I don't really know @travelling-two!

We have heard that there is quite a few digital nomads living in Chiang Mai due to its scene (cafes, bars and co-working spaces as well as the cultural side), closeness to the borders of Laos or Burma (quick visa run) and coolness of the weather compared to the rest of the country. It seems like a logical base, however a base should feel like a place where you could stay. Our recommendation is to explore more of this region and then see how you feel once you become more accustomed. We plan to go to Chiang Mai for Songkran (Thai New Year/water festival) in April for 4-5 days. We'll see if you are there.
Now, it's coming up to the summer period (mid-Feb to end of May) and then the rainy season until October. That's probably why some said it's not good to be there.
Weight up your options and most of the time, you will know what to do @nomadicsoul ;)

thanks hehe definitely trying to figure it out

Oh I saw this little doggie yesterday, too - or at least one just like it. Cutest thing I've ever seen!
I missed the New Year's celebrations, but I had a nice evening, too, at a private dinner at someone's home. Very nice :)

Awesome video of the chinese new year! Everyone in the video was so happy, including the dog, which was cute. Beautiful pictures and video footage of everything there. It flowed really well. Thanks for taking the time to put it together!

Thank you so much!! I really appreciate this comment because it was one of my first videos! I'm glad it made someone else happy, too

happy chinese new years! The dog photos are to die for! So cute :)

Hehe thanks! I know!! Haha I love the sleeping one too in the video, the fan is just blowing on him and his face is in front of the fan #chillvibes. I don't know, seeing that made me laugh so hard

Wow! Lucky you! You shouldn't miss the Songkran festival. It's also a very festive event there (prepare to get wet). ^^ The doggie and the video is lovely wish I can go there^^ ♥♥♥

Aww thanks for watching the video! It was kinda interesting to put one out, because I don't usually edit videos so I was wondering if people would like it. I think I like it more than just photos.

I am debating what to do! I might miss Songkran because I might be in Vietnam! But everyone says it's worth being here for! Ahhh I don't know where to go haha

I love videos as well. Will start doing videos son. I tried uploading on Dtube but it didn't work. Hopefully it will work next time. I enjoyed the video because I can see how the celebration actually went. :)

A couple of people told me dlive is better to put video on. 🤷🏻‍♀️

By the way @dawnsheree thank you! Comments like this and knowing you liked it keep me going! Thanks for being my motivation!

Will always be here if you need me ♥ Dlive I never checked it out because I thought it was the same as FB Live so it's the same as YouTube and DTube? lol I better check it when I have tons of extra time. ^^

I think busy.org is like Facebook, and I'm guessing dlive is like Facebook live or something. Not sure. Haven't checked it out yet

Love this travel blog! The smiles are contagious 😊
I really have to get into the video thing for my travels as I have so much footage. I also find it so much more interesting to watch along with music.
Does the montage take you a long time? Also, where do you find your music? A friend just gave me the name of a website where you have tons of music available to use for free but if you have a better one, I'm open to more suggestions.

Thanks for your sweet comment! Following you, I love your stuff as well! I also resteemed your last article.

It was basically my first video. I used Quik app on my phone, and it took almost 2 hours to do. Not sure if that's quick like the name suggests, or slow haha.

You can either use music from the app (the song in my video was on the app) or you can upload music from your phone!

Gotcha! Thanks for the tips and resteem :)
And 2 hours is nothing... at least for me! These things take me ages.

Dogs are so cute! nice pictures and movie!!
I follow you and upvote you!!

Thank you @tokyowomanslife! I appreciate your upvote and follow!!! You made me so happy with your nice comment. I am going to check out your page now as well. I always love returning the favor for good content.

Girl i dont really think you know how steemit work, the more you send money to the boost bot, the more you lose after curation, also dtube take 25% of your earning too. If you need help come to discord look for me in there, i will help you.

I don't know how to find you on there. You can find me though, it's the same name as on here. Thank you!

Why do so many people post on dtube then? Does this mean I shouldn't make videos and share them?

Because it's not ALL about the reward money for me... Sometimes I just want to share something cool.

And I think the video shows my travels way better than just pictures. It captures people's personalities and brings everything to life. So that's why I tried dtube out.

I was excited to share the vid... I thought upvote would help increase visibility but I'm not really sure if it does or not anymore.

U can share ur videos thru dlive.

Hey again! Here's my discord #4381 so you can add me. I don't think I can find you without yours. Thanks again so much for the help!

Wow! Your picture is very beautiful in color. I stimulate my willingness to produce.

@yoshiko thank you!! I'm glad it inspired you! Thanks for reading and commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25