7 tips for being super productive while traveling (like a boss)

in #travel7 years ago

Here are my super productive tips for all of you entrepreneur's who are still in need of running a business while traveling:

#1.
I'm Gone on Vacay!
Put an away message up and forward emails to your assistant.
My assistant will email or text me if something is SUPER important that I need to respond to ASAP.
If you don't have an assistant, tell your clients you will be gone.
However, if you are on VACATION--- take a vacation.
While on my 2 week honeymoon, I did work some.
It was only the last two days, but then again, it was the last two days of my honeymoon.
Looking back, that fact is kind of sad...
Remember, you deserve time for yourself, so don't be afraid to take it!

#2.
Meditation/ Me time
Often when I'm traveling, it's with clients and I've realized how important it is to make sure I step away & take time for myself.
Sometimes it's going for a long walk, run or yoga class.
Other times it's laying by the pool.
Often, it's just meditating for 5mins by myself.
But making sure I have 15mins-1hour each day while I'm traveling, is super important (which leads into number 3)...

#3.
Morning Ritual/ Early morning routine
I'm super insistent about this!
Each morning I make sure I have given myself this time to start my day out right.
When I wake up, I lay in bed and do deep Ujjayi breaths.
While I do, I envision my body being super healthy, with proper digestion, and a body that is strong and powerful.
Sometimes it's only 5 inhales and audible exhales.
Then, I write in my journal (morning pages via Artists Way anyone?).
I only write 1-3 pages and it can be about nothing or anything.
I just allow my mind to bounce around and get out whatever I've been holding onto.
After that, I meditate for atleast 5 mins.
Lastly, I'll down 20oz of water every morning.
Then my day is off to a good start!

#4.
Connect to Wifi wherever you go:
Restaurants, Hotels, Airports, Flights, etc.
My colleague has a portable router that she uses, which is fine,
but for me who tries (keyword* tries) to travel light so I prefer to just rely on wifi.
And
If I am out to eat, getting coffee, etc. with clients or friends.
I will insta-story, take a few pics, or snapchat whatever I'm eating and of the environment,
But after that, this is super important--
I PUT THE PHONE AWAY!!!
Learn to try to stay V present with clients, family and friends and stay OFF the phone.
I tend to find that the more present I am, the more inspired I am, the more creativity flows, the more abundance grows.

#5.
Pre-game Social Media
When I'm focusing on SM, I will make sure to use HootSuite, Buffer, Jukebox or something along those lines to schedule tweets, facebook, etc. so that way I don't have to think about posting while on vacay or traveling.

#6.
No means No!
So, just say no.
Because NO is a complete sentence.
I am a yes'r. A yes person.
It might be the Actress in me (improv teaches you to say YES, AND...)
or maybe it's the people pleaser in me, but I often say yes when I want to say no.
I spent over 7 months out of 2016 traveling and I have learned that life is too damn short to say yes when you really mean no.
Even if it's something really cool that you want to do, but your body and intuition is saying no, then don't do it.
Period.
Ex: I was in Bali with a client who wwas going to an amazing Elephant Sanctuary.
Said client really wanted me to go and I myself wanted to go as well.
But I was also torn because I really wanted/needed time by myself.
I was exhausted, stressed out, and didn't want to do any more traveling that day.
I told them NO bc I wanted time by myself (which was super scary),
they were cool with it, left and then I got to spend the day by the pool.
I made friends with a sweet couple who was traveling from the states and the couple bought me lunch and even gave me these really dope chokers that she makes on Etsy.
So, it was literally like the universe was rewarding me for listening to my intuition and actually putting myself first.

#7.
Drinking...
Sometimes when you are traveling to exotic locations, you want to do what the locals do.
Drink what they drink, eat what they eat, etc.
Just be smart about it. I'm all about indulging in moderation.
Have a cocktail or two or three, but before you go to bed--- make sure you down 20 oz of water. It will cure you from a hangover & help you feeling refreshed the next day.
Also-- if you are in a country where you can't drink the water, and you are eating raw fruits and veggies- ask the server what they use to wash the food. If it is unfiltered water, you can still get sick.
So just be smart before you eat it & tweet it. ;)

Sort:  

Congratulations @noelelie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @noelelie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66