Cattle on the Kulla and Hogs Downtown - Sweden

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Highland cattle on the Kulla Peninsula, Sweden Scottish Highland cattle on the Kulla Peninsula

Hiking, Biking, Ranching, Writing and more - My last days in Mölle

Despite the attractions of the town, the sea, and beautiful hikes, I managed to write every day I stayed Mölle. It wasn't hard, considering my options were the lavish hotel study, pictured below, and my balcony over the harbor. I added 30 solid pages. 90 page down, 270 to go!

Novel writing in the Hotel Kullaberg study Novel writing in the Hotel Kullaberg study, overseen by the Raja and a battle fleet. Not bad . . .

Beyond the town lies the Kullaberg Nature Reserve on a peninsula that comes to a point on its tip. There is a large bay to the east and the Øresund, with Denmark beyond, to the west. The reserve offers leafy forest, ocean cliffs, pasture, and even a golf course.

A verdant nature reserve trail A green and shady trail in the Kullaberg Nature Reserve

On the very point of the headland is Kullen Lighthouse (Kullens fyr). The lighthouse, said to the be the most powerful in Scandinavia, is operational, and serves as an important navigational aid for the heavy sea traffic in the vicinity. It is also the site of the oldest lighthouse in Scandinavia. The 16-century light was provided by fire held aloft in an iron cage. (see below)

Kullen Lighthouse

An intriguing part of the lighthouse complex. An intriguing part of the lighthouse complex that looks like a bunker with a breakfast nook inside. Great view, though.

Parrot Lighthouse
A replica of the original parrot lighthouse, which was basically an elevated fire

Sailboat Rocks frame a boat sailing past the peninsula

I returned to town from my hike, guided by the blue and gold Swedish flag over the harbor. The quiet streets had been taken over by a motorcycle gang! Well, a club. Coming from Arizona, I was used to seeing Hell's Angels and Mongols vests on bikers. This club was more like most American Harley riders, today. Lawyers, doctors, dentists, and real estate developers taking their hogs out for weekend rides.

Swedish flag

Swedish motorcycle club Hogs downtown: The harbor square in Mölle filled with well-heeled bikers

Adventuremobile In the wake of the Harleys came other kinds of adventure-seekers, undeterred by their tiny car

Alas, my dreamy time at the Kullaberg was drawing to a close. Although a quiet corner of Sweden, I was occupied when I wanted to be and otherwise remembered the simple joys of after dinner walks and gazing at the sea. My English friends offered to take me on a driving tour in the morning and drop me at the train station in Helsingborg. I thanked the hotel director who had been a fantastic host. I really enjoyed meeting Tomas, who had once been a Swedish rockstar touring Europe. He's a great guy and fun conversationalist. I packed and took in the night view of the town one last time.

The author and Hotel Kullaberg director Tomas The author and Hotel Kullaberg director Tomas

Mölle at night The sun has set on my time in Mölle


Did you see my other recent Scandinavian travel posts?

Sweden

Norway & Svalbard

All of the content is original and the photos were taken by me.

I was traveling light. These images were taken with a small Samsung point-and-shoot camera or smartphone!

Thank you!

Nick

Sort:  

Wonderful, upvote and resteem!

I'm glad you liked the post. Thanks for the resteem!

You do an excellent job of showing the amazing countryside of Sweeden. I would also like to see that corner of the globe some day as well, this sure seems to do it some real justice. The grazing cattle is an excellent shot by the way. Very nice post @nhkraft.

Thank you so much, @cryptkeeper17! This area was so picturesque and the weather was so beautiful. I was far less inspired in Gothenburg, only two hours to the north. Scandinavia is wonderful but still pretty expensive.

Waw ini banteng bukan ? Bantengnya lagi marah atau lagi pose jadi model ini hahaha 😁 ngomong ngomong bantengnya baru beli jell rambut ya kok bagus bangat rambutnya keren bisa jadi tren rambut 2018 ini🤔

Hai Lili (@sulika)! Saya pikir itu hanya menggaruk sapi dan tampak seperti banteng. Haha. Saya suka ide Anda tentang gelling rambut panjang. Ini akan menjadi tren keren keren untuk 2018.

Hahah....sekarang trend mengikut ke hewan ya😁😀 asal jangan sifatnya aja....mboooo!!!!!

Love the photo of the Scottish Highlander! Used to have a few on my farm, miss seeing their furry faces

That's fantastic, @clahatch34. I'd seen them in Scotland and wondered about them being in Sweden. They said the Highlanders did well there. The hiking path goes right through their pasture. Here's another!

Scottish Highlander

You have really done a great Job by going into all this areas and making a snapshots of each. I enjoy going for tour and adventures with my lady once we are less busy at work and we do enjoy them.

I appreciate that, @femseen. Sometimes, I focus on a particular topic but I really like telling a story with travel photos, taking the viewer along for the ride.

Sure!!! I love that

i love countryside and liked the last photo, thank you for that

Thank you @moons00000 :) I love all the different colors of light in that night shot.

"Resteem of the day" :)

{removed}

@pleasestop - appixx did resteem my post so his comment was not spam.

Thanks for alerting me! I've added appixx to my whitelist so I won't appear again.

Thank you for working to end spam comments!

I appreciate the support, thanks!

Thank you for reblogging my post!

Hello! Thank you for subscribing to my blog! I liked your stories about Sweden. I was not in this country. In this post I especially liked the picture of a sailboat in the rocks. I also write about my travels, you probably already noticed this. Nice to meet you )

Hi Mary! Nice to meet you as well. I enjoy your mixture of original art and photos. I see that you teach drawing. I used to teach fiction writing at the university where I now work as a web designer. Thanks for saying hello. See you on Steemit soon!

As interesting, you have changed interests from literature to design). I worked as a graphic designer for several years )
My friend teaches literature at the university, she is an expert on Dostoevsky.
I'm not involved in drawing, now I like drawing. I like life, traveling, drawing and writing - what I love!

Now that you mention it, I like life, too! :) Dostoevsky! I have read him but did not study him in grad school. My specialty is creative writing. Blogging is a fun combination of writing and photography. The trip I have been posting about was actually four years ago. I went to Svalbard to research a novel I have not finished. I'm looking for the motivation to work on it again.

I'm still looking at your posts. There are so many! Wave of cars keeps catching my eye.

Are you looking for inspiration?
When I worked a lot, I could not do creativity. I needed a reboot. I was very helped by yoga, I have been doing it for 7 years. I think you also need to find an occupation that will turn off the brain for a while ...


I have ceased to publish my art photos on Steemit, here they are little noticed. But I like to do it for the soul.

You said it. Since I started this job I have not added a page to my book. Change is coming. Thank you for chatting. It is good to find a like mind, even far away.

Wow! Great work nkraft! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 58min with 116 votes.
Thanks to @souldelas.

Good news!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54