About me - Trinidadian Merikin descendant, Artist, Videographer

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers - Please allow me to tell you a little bit more about myself. I'm relatively new to Steemit but I'm enjoying the experience so far, getting a glimpse into the lives of people with such diverse backgrounds and interests. I'm happy to have the opportunity to share some of my experiences with you also.

WHO IS NISH?

I'm a Trinidadian artist and a songwriter and I publish my music independently through my company, NISH MUSIC HOUSE. My music is urban and hip-hop inspired but can also be influenced by dance, R&B, pop and reggae.

I'm also a videographer - I've shot and edited numerous advertisements, short documentaries and also most of my music videos.

My family name is McNish and we are Merikin descendants.

nish city  (1).jpg

WHERE IS TRINIDAD?

I live in the southern Caribbean, a small country called Trinidad & Tobago (population 1.3 million), just off the coast of Venezuela but we speak English, and are a former British colony. We are a democracy and our main industry is oil and natural gas production. We are the home also of the steelpan, calypso and soca music, Carnival (Massive street party and parade) as well as parang (which is spanish influenced and usually associated with Christmas) and chutney (East Indian/Bhojpuri, and soca influenced). Our people are diverse, consisting primarily of descendants of African slaves and East Indian indentured labourers. But there are also many people of Spanish (south American), Chinese, Arabic, Native Indian and Caucasian descent. Now actually, there are a large portion of people who are mixed with two or more of the above races. Trinidad has the most public holidays in the world. We celebrate traditions from a wide range of backgrounds: Hindu, Islamic and Christian holidays are celebrated country-wide.

tt3.jpg
Source: https://www.paulinaontheroad.com/travel-blog/trinidad-tobago/

tt4.jpg

tt6.jpg

For more recent references many famous Americans are also of Trinidadian descent: Stokely Carmicheal, Cardi B, Nicki Minaj, Winston Duke (M'Baku in Black Panther), all the kids in Fresh Prince of Bel Air except Will (Carlton, Hilary and Ashley all had Trinidadian parents) ... there are many others.

WHAT IS A MERIKIN DESCENDANT?

My ancestors were African American slaves who fought for the British in the war of 1812, in exchange for land in one of the British colonies once the war was over. They chose Trinidad, a relatively underdeveloped colony at the time. Since then, Trinidad discovered oil off its coast (1970's) and has become one of the more developed Caribbean countries.

The Merikins (1812).png
Source: http://brillyance.blogspot.com/2017/02/the-merikins-1812.html

WHAT TYPE OF MUSIC DO YOU MAKE?

My music is urban. It's Hip Hop inspired in that I rap on most of them, but I also sing and the beats (by my friend and producer, ProMaTTxz) are multi-genre, inspired by dance, pop, Hip Hop or reggae to name a few.

WHERE CAN I LISTEN TO YOUR MUSIC AND WATCH YOUR VIDEOS?

On Youtube you can watch my Official Music Videos - I have 6 up right now and I'm working on 2 more which will be dropping soon.

My first album, the NTOC, is available on all major platforms, Apple Music, Spotify, Tidal, Soundcloud and even Youtube.
Apple Music: https://itunes.apple.com/album/id1140987453
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/4CUkQVcJb9VCnSctxG1rrn
Tidal: http://tidal.com/album/63659600
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/nishmusichouse/sets/the-ntoc-no-tomorrow-oratory-compilation
Youtube:

You can also connect with me below:
Instagram - @nishmusichouse
Facebook - NISH MUSIC HOUSE
Email - [email protected]

Sort:  

always welcoming more hip hop the steemit!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60675.97
ETH 3383.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52