I Ate Cow Stomach Soup in Bulgaria!

in #travel7 years ago

HEY STEEMIT FRIENDS!
while I stayed in Bulgaria with my girlfriends family I tried my best to try everything Bulgarian so I ate their countries hangover cure. It's called Shkembe and at first when I found out what was in it I was like..."do I really want to eat this?" Then I remembered I have tried more exotic dishes than Shkembe. I tried the soup and it was actually really good! I am the kind of person that has always liked to try weird/different things to eat because sometimes something sounds unpleasant but surprisingly turns out delicious :)
IMG_2204.JPG
You probably don't want to know exactly what this typically Bulgarian soup is made of. We suggest you first try it and see that it is actually pleasant to the taste. The literal English translation is tripe soup - tripe is the thick lining of the stomach of cows... Seasoned with garlic, vinegar, and hot red pepper, it will surprise you with its unique aroma and taste - good surprise that is. It is scientifically proven that Shkembe chorba helps alleviate a hangover when consumed after waking up with one. Eat it with as much beer as you want :)
IMG_6213.JPG

Sort:  

Iranians have a similar dish 😁 I haven't had it for years but I remember it being tasty 😋

@nikystone would you ever eat, MOOOOOre? sorry for the pun

hahaha! love the pun and yah probably :)

I will have to try now! Great blog post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67