Havey’s Australia & New Zealand Adventure Part 15 – Waitomo Caves & Rotorua, North Island NZ

in #travel5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

That sure looks like a wild trip through the cave with the glowworms overhead. I've never seen them before. Are they only found in (watery) caves? In the photo with the raft in the scene, the glowworms do make it look exactly like the sky. That's a really great photo!

Hey @free-reign, not only in watery caves but they are very prominent here. They live outside as well as we saw them just off the road as we were walking along at night.

Yea that was a great photo they sent over to us and helps to remember the moments!

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Epic tale of your encounters on a journey you obviously relished every moment of Nicky.

Real life experiences like this stay with you forever one can never put a price to the knowledge gleaned in travel, no matter what you encounter.

Hey @joanstewart thanks for joining in the adventure! Going back through these pictures and remembering what happened... Actually can't believe how much I did!

Traveling is the best education, prefer this method of learning vs my PhD 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I've always been fascinated by caves. You captured the beauty and mystery of these very nicely.

Yea they are mysterious and interesting places with a thousand stories to tell no doubt! Thanks for stopping by mate!

Posted using Partiko Android

Love each one of the images, and the adventure you tell us about made me remember my old adventure trips that I did before I became a mother, thank you for involving us in your trips! I hope to see you in those rough waters!

Thanks a lot for stopping by @fmbs25! I'd love to hear more about those adventures of yours! Bet you were a right thrillseeker before motherhood

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.

Ooo awesome! Thanks a lot @helpiecake and @priyanarc! Cake and chess, how civilised 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

The Chief of CryptoLunch ahah😃

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha don't diss crypto otherwise I'll set my tribe on you 😛

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahah what?🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, if you start saying negative things about crypto then I'll set my tribe on you. Crypto Chief 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

i loved the glow worm caves. i've always thought that the one thing schools should change about science is the lack of experience. if kids got out in nature more, they would have much more respect for what it entails.

Absolutely right there - experiences and days out should be more common rather than reading about it in a book. Learning theory is one thing but when you're out there you just get to see and live it and that's where the true learning comes from.

Posted using Partiko Android

The Dobblers XD HAIL TO THE CHIEF OF THE DOBBLERS o/

Love this post, @nickyhavey ! That whole cave seems absolutely magical and I'm glad that the tour sent over some photos that kind of sort of better than the phone camera's mights.... I would like to visit it one day, for sure !

And great narration, too <3 You're always so personable :D But also informative ! Love that bits about the cannibalistic info of the past tribes.... I'm glad you didn't get eaten... XD

Hahaha thanks for the lovely words man!

Yea those caves really were special. My mouth was just open the whole time in awe (thankfully the water didn't drip into it from the roof lol)!

I appreciate the feedback on the style of writing too! It's just the way I do it, we're all human at the end of the day and I think it can be just a bit robotic when everything is kept so neutral. I loved my travels and I'm going to share the emotions too haha! SO glad I didn't get eaten 🤣

Take it easy brother! 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @nickyhavey! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Ah thank you so much @steemitbloggers! What an unexpected and awesome surprise 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

A cool spelunking trip, Nicky Cavey :)

That's Chief Nicky Cavey 😉 yea it was an amazing day. Can't believe this was over 3 months ago now 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey Nick Cave was a singer in a band in the last century, called The Bad Seeds. World famous rock star.

Hmm, that one must have slipped through the net. Not familiar with the name! 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I remember watching a Lazarus, Dig Yourself with him.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45