Sort:  

Weeeeehh, happy you landed & are well!! <3

Thanks a lot team and great to hear a bit of the show this morning 😊 thanks for having team EMA on again, sorry I gate crashed again 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Good, excellent, amazing :) Let's see what happens when you try to get up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha thanks Manol! Time to do some evening exploring of the local supermarkets as I need to get some food! Legs are still attached which is a plus!

Posted using Partiko Android

Even that reminded me of exotic times. Local markets. Even the super- ones.

Posted using Partiko Android

So glad you got there in one piece. Long haul trips - not for sissies. Reminds me of Cape Town - Tokyo....

no matter how many times you go away, you will not sleep the night before

You are so right and I've traveled a lot on business, sometimes as frequently as once a month domestically. Always suffered from that afliction. Every time - even when I lived 30 minutes from the airport!!

Also, travel is not the same easy thing since 9/11.

Look forward to your next installment!

Absolutely not for sissies! Cape Town to Tokyo sounds like a nightmare as well! How long did that take?

It felt like forever. It was CPT-JNB-SIN-NRT. I think it was 48 hours all told if not longer with re-fuelling stop - on the tarmac in Mauritius. On the way back we had a 6-hour layover in Singapore, which we used. Not to the best - my colleague was looking for Thai boxing shorts for her son. So we did Orchard Road and shops. My best memory is a wonderful market not too far from Raffles.

Be grateful that you had a screaming child and not a smelly Bangladeshi sugar worker en route to Maruitius who stole the cutlery as a travelling companion - that's what I had - in the middle seat from SIN and he had the window seat. He was a shrimp of a man, and slept spread out like a spider. Not sure which is worse, the snivelling, griseling child. Oh and then he was illiterate, so I had to help him fill in his forms for entry into Mauritius!

Worse though, but not as long was CPT-JNB-JFK. Packed in like sardines - both ways - and with compulsory fuelling, crew and passenger stops (also on the tarmac) in Dakar, Senegal where, actually, I'd love to have stopped for at least a day - great music and interesting country. I was ill on the way back. To add fuel to the fire, it was my birthday which happened somewhere over the Atlantic and I landed in Cape Town at around 22h30. I was literally delirious. Urgh! Memorable for all the wrong reasons....

Oh, and on Australia being a big country - it is - it's a continent! Interesting, they tend to think South Africa is small and then learn the hard way. That's a story for another time....

BTW, if, by some chance you come across two of my school/uni mates, Di Sherman and Colleen Roberts who live in Melbourne, you know what to do.... #juststaying ;)

Epic so far mate and you're only just getting started. Have fun, stay safe and keep posting about it.

Gaz

Thanks mate! Hopefully once I've rested up, tomorrow will have more adventures from Melbourne itself. Strewth!

Watch out for the Dingo's or is it the Drongo's!

You are much braver than I ☺ Have a wonderfull adventure 💖💖💖 Looking forward to seeing/reading more about it! 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @thereikiforest. Brave or stupid haha! Hope to have more tales as time goes on, take it easy 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Half the adventure is in the planning Nicky, have a great time down under.

Flying is not fun like it was (4o years ago LOL), going anywhere is educational, something one will never regret.

Now to make sweet memories you can add to tunes, have fun!

Haha it sure is @joanstewart! Thanks a lot and let's see what this cool country is all about 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, wow! I'm telling you, I felt like I was right there with you, sweating bullets every single time. Nine months is a long time to wait to start an adventure of a lifetime. And here it has begun! The sheer thought of taking 30 hours to get to my destination is daunting, especially if I am flying and not driving. You managed it like a champ and now the fun begins! The memories have already started!

Someone give that baby something to eat! Or drink! Or nap it! The poor baby's ears probably hurt. Inner ears or something. Let's just go with that one so you won't freak every time you have to do the long haul with a baby. ;)

It was fun being in the final countdown stages with you and I am glad you are taking us along with you. What fun!!! Are you sure we have everything???? Don't make me whine! :)

I'm excited for you and it is with great anticipation that I look forward to the very next post with your name on it. Glad you made it, even if you had to dress and undress a hundred times to get there. Note to self: wear flip flops, with socks, if necessary. I am sure that pull out couch with your name on it took you in and kept you until you were well rested.

Sweet dreams! Until we hear again!!!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Hey @dswigle! Thanks for the tip and the epic comment! Yes lots of sweaty moments but all's well that ends well!

I think I'll give that baby a sound proof room instead 😁

I'm not sure I have everything but I'll find out soon enough haha!

I wore the hiking boots to save room in my case but it was good practice to tie shoe laces in double quick time, I feel like a pro lol.

I've spent a lot of time on the sofa bed already but it's time to explore the city. These time differences... 😁

Thanks for the resteem too 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

The time difference is easier to manage when you get well rested! Honest! You go and explore and have fun! Resteeming you is my pleasure!

🎁 Hi @nickyhavey! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday'S Words Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 295 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hey @trufflepig! Thanks so much for truffling me haha 😀 keep on truffling and pigging won't you!

Posted using Partiko Android

@nickyhavey, Without any doubt it's quite a journey and not all just because of travel but also because of the pre tarvel part and definitely when we want to do something with determination then definitely Universe always opens path for it and i am also waiting for my door opening moment. Stay blessed.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hey @chireerocks you're right about that. Your door will open my friend, keep going and you be open minded about whatever comes your way, the universe has a plan indeed 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

That's true and i believe upon the timing of the Universe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36