How We Ate Vegan in a Campervan. And Tips for Filling Up While Travelling.

in #travel6 years ago

20180422_161822.jpg

Whenever you're away from home, you're going to find yourself either eating out a lot or preparing less than healthy foods.

Eating healthfully is simple and will keep you powered for whatever adventures you have in store for yourself.

Breakfast is a big deal if you have a big day ahead. Usually at home, my breakfast involves one hard to find ingredient (amla powder), entirely for it's antioxidant properties. The meal looks like this;

Oats made on soy with half a banana, 1 tsp of amla powder, 1 tbs flax meal, 2 tsp of cacao powder and an oozing of molasses.

Do you need all this? No, but keep the oats as a basis.

If you're trying to do it cheaply, stick with quick oats and soymilk then mush in a banana for sweetness. Buying a bag of cacao and flaxmeal would be ideal, but you may not want to outlay that extra cash for food you're not going to eat all of.

Snacks on the go.

The healthiest nuts are without doubt, walnuts. Eating walnuts, cashews, almonds and pepitas throughout the day interspersed with an apple, a peach and some blueberries will keep you energised. You may have noticed there's no recipe guide here. Eating cheaply and simply is just often having those whole foods on you ready for consumption. Smashing down bananas on the go is also a winner in my book.

We adore spaghetti with lashings of garlic.

We have eaten vegan spaghetti and red sauce at all times of the day and it's hard to say "no" to if it's an option for the day. If you have a sachet on hand, a little bit of sugar makes a big taste difference. Of course, if you've got all the garlics in there, you won't really be missing out on the true X-factor of a mean spaghetti dish.

Think wholemeal pasta, tinned tomatoes, mountains of crushed garlic, a chopped onion and a huge handful of basil. Eating all this basil is a cheeky way to get both your herbs and greens for the day.

I go mental for a good lentil [dahl].

20180419_131251.jpg

Slap some dahl onto a wholemeal wrap and add a few fresh veggies like tomato and spinach and a smear of hummus and you're set for lunch! This was a little camp site on Kangaroo Island where a koala was lazing in a tree nearby!

Well, yeah apparently lentil dahl makes no sense. 'Dahl' I think is Indian for split pea. Red lentils and split peas might both be legumes, but they're certainly not the same thing. Even still, what's a red lentil split pea?

Like spaghetti, dahl can be eaten at any time. Buy a bag of red lentils for a bit over a dollar and they'll last you a week. More onions and tinned tomatoes here, curry powder, turmeric, garlic, kale or spinach and some low salt vegetable stock. We threw ours over a bed of brown rice as quinoa wasn't available to us in the small town grocery store we shopped at. The only downside to eating this healthy is the inconvenience of having to poop so many times. The fibre is REAL.

When we were in Adelaide, we failed so hard.

Alright, forgive me. When I'm on holidays, it's hard to say "no" to comfort food. We ate vegan jam donuts, pasties and so many other naughty foods. And while that sucks to think that in a way, I let my body down, we are returning to our thermomix tonight!

You have no idea how excited I am to plug her in and get her creaming up some frozen bananas.

Sexualising an appliance may be unhealthy, but I can be a bad boy once in a while, right?

EDIT: No thermomix! I'm quite literally on the verge of tears.

So if you're looking to travel, now you've got no excuse not to (based on the cost of food). If you've got an irrational fear of flying or you don't like having fun, I'm not going to be able to help you just now.

Before I leave you, I wanted to share with you that I was sensible enough to seek treatment for my neck as soon as we arrived back in Sydney this afternoon. I may have a bulging disc, so I'm on anti-inflammatories for at least the next few days. Fingers crossed my sleep is much better this evening!

All the best,

Nick.

All content is original.

If you've enjoyed my content, please UPVOTE, FOLLOW AND COMMENT.

This post was not self-upvoted nor have I been paid to promote any products or services.

Sort:  

Lentils are one of my favourite staples too. The weird thing is how you can sometimes rather forget about a certain type of food, due to trying out new things I suppose. Thanks for the reminder ;). And good luck with your health!!

The separation anxiety from high speed blenders is real!

Good on you both for sticking with it even while travelling. I went vegan for about six months but ultimately went back to being a vegetarian because I was found it hard when eating out to order a decent vegan meal. I will probably give it another go this year sometime now a bunch of vegan places have popped up around Brisbane and restaurants finally catering to vegans.

I now how hard it can be to eat healthy vegan food while traveling :D. It's good to see how you do on your travels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28