From Admiral's Arch to a Ferry-bound Arsehole: Two Nights on Kangaroo Island. Penneshaw to Flinders Chase NP and Back. PART 2. [MATURE/EXPLICIT]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

20180419_093355.jpg

You're wondering already, "Why the last two photos with a goofy thumbs up?

I can't answer that. I really can't.

20180420_070542.jpg

The colours I've seen on Kangaroo Island, or "KI" have been spectacular. Massive skies, the enticing Southern Ocean lapping up against calm beaches and treacherous cliffs, alike and the shades of red earth frankly I'd only expect to see in outback Australia.

Writing as we have been experiencing our road trip has been a tranquiliser laced with adrenaline.

You think you're going down, then bam! I can't get it all off my mind. The lack of internet connectivity has been a huge pain. I'm not sure I felt liberated by it as I have once mentioned. I just felt frustrated. Having the ability to get my work up and online daily is important to me and in a way, empties my mind of the previous day's activities so I'm a nice blank slate for the following day. With so much happening, it's been tough to keep up.

Don't drive past random lookouts and scenic spots.

20180419_141854.jpg

Kangaroo Island is a big place. It's 150 km long and about 90 km wide at it's extremities. We spent two nights, not a day trip, as some tours promote.

One of the first lookout we stopped at was at Pennington Bay. STOP HERE.
We stopped at the start of the road where you can see the ocean. In my opinion, it's the best spot because it is closest to the curved cliff face and gives you a perfect view of the tiny bay.

Wildlife in abundance.

20180419_132656.jpg

I've never seen so much wildlife in two days. As I said in the previous post, we spied echidnas. We also had fearless possums say g'day during dinner while we stayed within Flinders Chase National Park, saw wallabies and kangaroos everywhere and saw our first koala in the wild thanks to two eagle-eyed German tourists. We went on to see about five echidnas and three koalas snoozing up trees.

Actually, today was a sad day. On our way across the South Australian and Victorian border, just after spotting two emus we came across a koala that was hit by a car. It might seem to be in poor taste, but I've included a photo of him/her just to remind us all why we need to have our eyes on the road and to slow down, especially at dusk and dawn.

20180422_142644.jpg

Remarkable Rocks and Admiral's Arch.

20180419_092349_008_02.jpg

Kangaroo Island's Flinders Chase NP boasts these two natural wonders. At the far end of the island, you are treated to some special scenery. I will argue that just the small drive from the turnoff out to Remarkable Rocks was stunning. The road rolls up and down in a deliberate series of crests and valleys that are all very visible due to the low surrounding vegetation. Throw cliff-side driving toward an isolated cluster of bizarre shaped rocks into the mix and it just goes up a notch. Totally worth going to.

20180419_105530.jpg

Admiral's Arch is one of two attractions at this site. The geology and tidal activity has combined to transform this coastal feature into what looks like a temporary bridge over to an island. What's really happened is that the ocean has eaten out the rock. It once formed a cave, now created an arch and within a few more thousand years will destroy the arch creating a tiny island.

The other thing you've got to check out while you're here at the arch is the New Zealand Seal breeding ground. You can see the seals playing and barking at one another, and if you're lucky enough, you may be able to witness a Great White Shark stalking it's prey. Where there are seals, sharks will follow.

The divisive t-shirt [see yesterday's article.]

So, we're off KI and scooting across and through the Coorong National Park. We get to a tiny town called Wellington. It's got it's own free (24 hr) ferry to cross to the other side of the Murray river. We are waiting in a long line up to cross so I decide to hop out of the van and go for a walk. This guy says to me as I'm walking and minding my own business, "Vegan means love." Then he says it again, clearly reading my shirt. I'm proud of that shirt! And I'm chuffed it is getting a reaction.

So when I look up, he says to me, "Vegan means love, does it?" The guy was clearly looking for a reason to continue acting like a wanker. Like really, who talks to strangers in a rude tone about a shirt print? This guy either felt intimidated by my lofty position up on my moral highground or was a certifiable psycho trying to intimidate strangers.

I said what any calm, rational person should have said.

"Fuck off, you dim-witted twat. I hope you choke on a dick."

I wish that were the case. My response was far more appropriate for a caring individual hoping to see a better world. I said,

"Yep! It sure does!"

I continued past the guy with a smug, yet worryingly apprehensive look on my face.

All the best,

Nick.

All content is original.

If you've enjoyed my content, please UPVOTE, FOLLOW AND COMMENT.

This post was not self-upvoted nor have I been paid to promote any products or services.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nickmorphew
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=from-admiral-s-arch-to-a-ferry-bound-arsehole-two-nights-on-kangaroo-island-penneshaw-to-flinders-chase-np-and-back-part-2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Friend excellent trip, beautiful photographs, it gives a lot of sadness the koala run over, and very good story of the trip, greetings @nickmorphew

Thanks for stopping by. Yes, it was vey sad to see such an innocent, beautiful creature dead like that.

We actually spoke to a wildlife rescuer who stopped after seeing us stop. He didn't say much. Just asked if he was still alive. He checked for a pulse, then took him off the roadside.

Vey sad.

I love KI. I think it's one of Australia's most under-rated tourist destinations. Why would you just go for one day? The ferry is fucking expensive now though. I don't remember it being that ridiculous 10 years ago.

Beautiful Kangaroo Island not beautiful that koala lie down beside the road, unfortunately is common that cars hit local animal on their way That's sad!!!

One of the problems is that people drive too quickly for the conditions (wildlife present) and drive when they aren't at their most alert.

Very sad. Have you been to KI or something that might be in your future?

I would definitely recommend it if you're already planning to visit South Australia. It's actually made me want to explore/research other islands.

Cheers for dropping by and leaving a comment.

Nick.

I lived two years in Australia I travelled around except from SA and NT . Hope to come back one day! That's true many people drive quickly because the roads usually are not busy and that' s result and such poor aninals I do not know how long will you stay in Australia but my favorite islands (I mean the ones I visited): Rottnest Islands (WA), Whitsundays, Magnetic and Fraser Island (QLD). I should say also Tasmania because it is island but larger :)

I was born and live in Australia, mate. So, I'll be here for a while!

I've been to Tasmania. Loved it. And Fraser Island. We will be up in Queensland twice this year - Gold Coast and Port Douglas once more (we were there last year also!).

I'm yet ti visit Western Australia, but Hayley has been there. She thought the Margaret River was pretty special.

Cheers.
Nick

Sorry I did not know you were from Australia. Enjoy your travelling around your country !!!! I miss it !!!

We welcome you back when you're back here!!

Cheers mate! :) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86