Conquer the third largest cave in the world

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemians,

I love trekking so today I am going to share my trek in the world's third largest cave with you guys.

From the biggest cave.....

A few years ago, a newly discovered cave in the central Vietnam was determined to be the largest cave in the world - Hang Son Doong. Since the cave was opened to the public for the first time in 2013, we have had chance to see how it looks like through more articles, photos and videos taken by the scientists, cave experts and photographers who first explored it.

.....To the third biggest....

I was very impressed by Hang Son Doong but the price (USD 3,000 for a five-day expedition) and physical fitness requirements really stopped my desire to explore it. Fortunately, while watching this cave's videos, I came to know about another spectacular cave - Hang En (Swallow Cave). I decided to conquer Hang En at an much more affordable price when I was on a career break in 2015.

Located in UNESCO-listed Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park which is considered as Vietnam's kingdom of caves, Hang En is known to be the third largest in the world. It was also selected as a shooting location for the movie Pan (2015) .

And the adventure begins....

I took 2 day 1 night adventure tour with Oxalis - the sole tourism agency running tours to Hang En and Hang Son Doong.

After picking me up at my hostel in Phong Nha, Oxalis took me to their office where I and other tourists in group learned about safety and collected trekking gears for ourselves. After 1 hour drive through Phong Nha- Ke Bang National Park, we reached the trek's start point.

IMG_1036.JPG
Phong Nha - Ke Bang National Park

The first part of the journey was not difficult when we walked down a steep jungle hill with Rao Thuong River at the bottom.

IMG_1058.JPG

IMG_1059.JPG

We continued hiking through the beautiful green forest and crossed some shallow streams before reaching a minority village called Ban Doong.

IMG_1070.JPG

IMG_1071.JPG

IMG_1072.JPG

After a picnic lunch along the river, we made our way to the cave’s entrance.

27047360_1324824427622251_786596612_o.jpg
The cave's entrance from inside

Equipped with headlamps, gloves and hats, we then entered to the cave. Finally, what I had seen in pictures totally appeared in front of my eyes for real at that moment...

IMG_1145.JPG

After a quick rest at campsite, we climbed up the boulders to the mouth of the cave. This is the way to the largest cave and only 2km far from here.

IMG_1245.JPG

Return to the campsite, we relaxed on the beach and swam in the beautiful turquoise pool while porters were preparing meals. With the sounds of swifts overhead and the smell of their shit around, I could fully understand the name of the cave, haha.

A lot of delicious food and drink, even rice wine were served for dinner. After that, we, no matter where we came from, local or foreigners, sang, played game and had fun together. It was definitely one of the best memories in my travels.

IMG_1313.JPG

On the second day, we followed another path to the cave's exit.

IMG_1363.JPG
The pool water changes color under sunlight

And it was time to start the journey home. The way back was much more challenging because of going uphill continuously. I had to take more breaks than I normally did and was left behind by my fellows. However, I was so thankful to have local porters as my partners who waited for me, followed me and even offered to help bring my back bag to make sure I was fine. I could feel such special care during the journey because I was the only Vietnamese tourist in the group ^^

My hope...

Besides enjoying mother nature, the hike is so meaningful when I acknowledge about eco-tourism which it is hard to see in Vietnam. While many places in Vietnam are eventually destroyed by people, which resulted in environmental damage, the way Oxalis is doing for caves in Phong Nha brings me little belief and hope. I do hope that there will be more and more sustainable and responsible agencies like Oxalis in my country and Vietnamese people will care more about our nature and environment when they travel as well as when they plan any tourism project .

Sort:  

This is on my list!!! I love this place so much. Can't wait to go someday :) Followed and upvoted

Yes, highly recommend. I really love Phong Nha - Ke Bang National Park. There are more spectacular caves like Tu Lan. I will definitely go back to explore more also. :)
I saw you travell some places in Vietnam too. Followed as well :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by magicstone1412 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80