You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When the road calls #1

in #travel7 years ago

Its a pleasure. Steemit has been a great motivator on my own writing. I also have been getting a great deal of editing and peer reviews from comments as well as chatting with authors on Discord. If you want to know more, just let me know.

As far the "landing in the plane" part. Yes, I would keep it, but let it interrupt your thought about the old woman ( if you use that as your inciting incident in the beginning) This is just an idea of course. As far as breaking up dialogue and narration, perhaps some thing like this:

"Ladies and gentlemen welcome to Brussels airport."

Relief, fear, disappointment, excitement, hope, worry, and much more, it all starts to collide in my head.

“Local time is 7:30 AM and the temperature is 8 degrees Celsius."

Belgium indeed. After one year of traveling I was back home. Back to a life I never felt was mine. Back to friends I slowly lost contact with. Most importantly perhaps back to start a new chapter in life, a chapter where I want to find a way to be happy as a functioning part of society.

“On behalf of Condor Airlines and the entire crew, I’d like to thank you for joining us.”

Oh, how my teenage me would have despised that thought.

“See you soon and have a nice day.”

And so forth. It separates your protagonist from the hustle and bustle around him and helps the reader identify with him more. Sorry to make this such a long post. We do a lot of editing, my work included over at the Fiction Workshop on Discord. Its a lot of fun.

I think Steemit has the potential to create some very impressive authors and shake up the literary world, so I'm glad to see individuals such as yourself getting into the game. Feel free to contact me if you need any help. Our community loves reaching out to aspiring authors. Cheers!

Sort:  

Thanks again and yes I would definitely like to know more!

I see what you mean, it does indeed read a lot easier that way! I will update the post later to reflect those changes (on the phone now)!

EDIT: Updated it now, does it feel better like this?

Hell again! Yes, looking much better. I am also an amateur writer and have a lot left to learn. But the community over at the Fiction Workshop is very friendly and helpful. @rhondak made a great introductory post at
https://steemit.com/writing/@rhondak/the-msp-fiction-writers-workshop
I'll set a link directly to Discord here (the invite will expire in 1 day, I can always get you another one)
https://discord.gg/f4N6V
There is a bit of a learning curve, but most are willing to help out. I usually hang out in the Fiction Workshop section, @rhondak , @mk40 , @gmuxx are all great people and willing to direct you. Let me know if you have any questions. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62