Dubrovnik (part 2)

in #travel6 years ago

I didn’t even think that this would be the most beautiful trip I've ever experienced...
My friends from the university and me started touring cities, including Dubrovnik, a city located in the extreme south of Croatia, Dalmatia. I wanted to see the city from a distance, so I asked the driver to stop before entering the city so I could enjoy the beautiful landscape. First of all, I caught the attention of an island named Lokrum not far from this city, which seemed like an oasis of peace, heavenly flora and fauna.
However, I learned from the guide that this island is cursed, and his owners were changing over the centuries and each of them has been killed. Today, this island is under the protection of UNESCO and represents a nature park, and the only inhabitants of this island are peacocks. The guide also told us some interesting things about this island ... The island was named according to the Latin word “acrumen“, when translated, has the significance of sour fruits, since this island was previously known for acid orange trees.

When I looked away of the island, I saw an old city that was stretched along the coast of the Adriatic Sea... It was immediately clear for me that this city had a burning past and was full of interesting stories, hidden in every stone of this city.

It seemed like the city was sprouting from the rock. This caught the attention of many producers who used this place to create their masterpieces and the best example is the “Game of Thrones” series, in which this city got the role of King's Landing. This was a good recommendation to many tourists around the world to come and visit this city, which today represents one of the most famous and most visited tourist destinations in the Mediterranean.

It is enough of watching this city from afar ... It’s time to dive into its inner beauties ...
At the very entrance as I was crossing the stone bridge, I felt some weird energy… I was barely waiting to go into the city and I was very excited about being on the spot where one of my favorite series was filmed.

As soon as I passed through the entrance gate, I was dazzled by the light from the city's buildings. After I recovered from the original shock, I saw in front of me the Prince's Palace, a building built as a seat of government, which was thought to have been built in the thirteenth century, while in the fourteenth century it grew into a palace. Due to the explosion of gunpowder, the Prince's Palace was damaged and it got reconstructed in the next 30 years. The building suffered another disaster shortly after the reconstruction, caused by a new explosion, as well as the earthquake, which occurred two centuries later. These facts make it clear to us that this city is indestructible.

Going further, two huge buildings were attractive to me, of which, one of them was famous cathedral, which I found out that was created at the end of the seventeenth and beginning of the eighteenth century, modeled on the work of the famous Italian painter Rafael.

While I was amazed by the beauty of this city, I didn’t even notice that I got separated from my group. I was lost. The feeling was not pleasant and I got scared. My thoughts were diverted from fear to the spotless water that splashed the towers of the Bokar tower. This tower was built in the middle of the sixteenth century and served primarily to defend the fortress. Her specific shape showed us that its builders were far ahead of their time.

Looking further into the water, I noticed the fascinating shades of colors that I’d never had the opportunity to see before. I had completely forgotten that I was lost, I was completely calm and I didn’t even know how much time I spent in this spot looking at the same scene.

The last view of the colors that woke up all of my senses and I'm very sorry that the quality of this picture isn’t good enough for you to enjoy as much as I am.

Doesn’t it look like a fairytale place?

I am getting to the port in which I am trying to find the ship that was supposed to take us further, but there were many ships and I thought that the group continued without me. I was worried again. I didn’t give up. I continued moving forward, and after about 10 minutes of walking I saw a familiar face. It was one of my best friends. They were looking for me, they didn’t left me…

We went into the boat that waited for us. I was happy that I wasn’t alone, but still a bit sad because this was almost the end of the visit to this beautiful city, which I still owe at least one more meeting.

Sort:  

Congratulations @nesni996! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I envy your trips, that island looks beautiful.

If I could only wander in that architecture for a while.

Thank you for sharing these.

Thank you a lot. As you can see, these arhitects were a very good in their job.:)

Great photos and post.
What camera did you use, could you look some of the photos in my posts, would really appreciate any feedback. Thanks.

Thank you very much. I used Nikon D5100. You can find better camera, but I am satisfied with this one. :) Of course, I will look your posts. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83