THINGS TO KNOW WHEN BOOKING A FLIGHT AND TRAVELLING

in #travel7 years ago

Here are a few tips that can save you loads of money over time.

FOR US FLIGHTS

  1. Always check Southwest airline fares on their site. They do not deal on fare websites.
  2. Night time or very early morning flights are often cheaper.
  3. Fly Tuesdays, fly Wednesdays. Saturdays may be the third cheapest option
  4. If possible try to book 2-3 months in advance.
  5. Try to book a flight on Tuesdays. It is the most competitive day for airline deals
  6. Must compare websites for fare. I have saved hundreds on a single trip. I don't know how this is possible but it happens daily.
  7. Sign up for sites like Travelocity. The deals are pretty amazing and they keep showing up in your inbox.
  8. If you have started early enough, then instead of buying right way, sign up for fare alerts. Almost always you get a good deal.
  9. If you have a connecting flight try to find something with a 1.5 to 2 hour time in between. I can write a book about my troubles with missed flights.

FOR INTERNATIONAL FLIGHTS

  1. Only book with reputable sites like Travelocity, Expedia, orbitz etc. I once booked something called cheap fare or a similar name to save a few hundred bucks. Non US based fare sites have horrible service. You will get nowhere if need any help. I want to show you my wounds but let's go to the next one.

  2. Make certain you do comparison shopping, as mentioned above. Always surprises me.

  3. Start looking about 3-4 months in advance, if possible

  4. Travel to large hub airports. They are cheaper

  5. Buying on Tuesdays still applies as you likely have a connecting flight to a port airport.

  6. Give yourself more time between connections. Stupid things happen. Give about 4 hours. Systems outside the US are worse than US often. Lines are long. You may have to go through multiple baggage checks. Last time in Dubai or Doha or some God forsaken place, I was pulled aside by an agent who thought my picture looked different than me. I agree than I am more handsome in person but it was still an hour in a foreign country with a strange dude. Also there is no concept of a queue or personal space or deodorant or hygiene.

  7. Now allow me to spread some good word about AMEX. Get a card and Get Priority Pass. I have spent hours in the worlds most horrible chairs and I have spent hours in some great lounges. I remember being able to get away from a shitload of rifraf at the Karachi airport by getting into the VIP lounge. I was treated like Royalty

GET THE BOINGO APP. It will give you free wifi at most airports.
Needless to say wear comfortable clothes and don't forget to breathe on takeoff.
May the travel Gods be with you

Kindly upvote, resteem, comment

Sort:  

Splendid advice. Have you ever thought about writing a book with this treasure trove of travel tips? You are a gold mine of info. Bet you've got more to tell.

Great comment. Thanks. If and when I retire perhaps. I am a physician and time has been my excuse but comments like these will change my mind.

useful information

Thanks for the kind words.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nedspeaks from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43