Diary for 21 days in Chechnya. Day 0: Preparation.

in #travel7 years ago

On the trip I found out just 7 days before departure. Me and my classmates had offered to come here to teach Chechen children the Russian language. I agreed, because I really wanted to extend the summer, and in Grozny just +30°.
0_64983_ec436967_orig.jpg
My attitude to Chechnya is very ambiguous. I think in this region is strongly suppressed freedom of the individual. I read an article of an American journalist who went to Grozny to clarify the situation of gays, and he said it was the most terrifying place in which he was ever at. Yes, there safely at night on the streets, police everywhere and camera, but still constantly feel tense and afraid of the word superfluous to say. For me it's like a test. Life in Chechnya has nothing to do with my, quite the contrary. In many ways, their politics and internal structure contrary to my views and beliefs. But to condemn without understanding I can't. I would like to find there at least some pros and I'm sure I'll find them in spite of hell, what now seems to me this place.
Tomorrow begins my difficult journey. please wish me luck!
photo from Google

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23