California Dreamin'

in #travel7 years ago

It’s been a long cold wet snowy winter here in Portland and when my sister suggested a spontaneous road trip along the California coastline, I couldn't get my YES out of my mouth fast enough.

It turned out to be just the right prescription for my early spring blahs and gave me a much needed boost in morale. The trip also shifted something in me; some old dreams were rekindled and a little piece of happy-go-lucky lightheartedness I felt in my later college years returned to me.

 01 IMG_6028 copy.jpg

When I came to the west for the first time it was to visit my older sister at college in Claremont, California, I was 14 and it was 1981. I thought I had arrived in heaven with the stunningly beautiful campus at the foot of Mt. Baldy. Never in my life had I seen such a lush abundance of magnificent plants - the many varieties of succulents and cacti, orange and eucalyptus trees, calla lilies and birds of paradise growing everywhere. I remember going for a walk down an alley between streets and picking fresh figs and pomegranates from the trees leaning over the walkway.

My sister’s roommate took me on a day trip to Huntington beach which was about an hour away and as we drove through the citrus groves, the rolling green foothills and the valleys out to the coast, my mind was blown and I was dazzled. Woody Guthrie was right, California IS a garden of eden! Finally I had found a place beautiful enough to feed my soul and expansive enough for my mind to roam = home.

4 years later I returned as a college student to this same campus and took many a road trip exploring everything from Cabrillo Point to Mendicino to Joshua Tree to Yosemite and everything in between. I even had what I call “my slacker summer” when my best friend and I lived in a Brentwood hills house (next door to Rod Stewart) with an incredible view of the coast, and all of it for free. Within a month we had let go of every single responsibility that would detract from our all important pastimes of reading by the pool, munching on peanut butter and jelly tortillas, making great mixed tapes, smoking pot or endlessly philosophizing about life. Classes and jobs somehow just seemed unimportant.

After 25 years or so in the Pacific Northwest, I still always think sunny thoughts about California
and have so many fond memories of my 5 years there. It was my first love and I’ve never quite gotten over it.

It was so heartening to return to this beautiful coastline with with my younger sister, her 2 young munchkins and dog. These children are growing up in Manhattan and I felt so good to be with them as their perspectives expanded.

I have loads of photos but I’m attempting to show some restraint with just a few highlights. We met in LA briefly and saw one of my favorite installations at the LA County Museum sculpture garden, Chris Burden’s “Urban Light”, here with my beautiful niece.

02 IMG_6032 copy.jpg

A blissful afternoon at Pismo Beach near San Luis Obispo:

03 IMG_6040.JPG

Louis was a trooper the entire trip
04 IMG_6078.JPG

This kid is one with nature
05 IMG_6060 copy.jpg

07 IMG_6076.JPG

Arriving in Cambria for the night. For the rest of the trip I fantasized about moving to this sleepy, friendly gorgeous little town sandwiched between the nation’s most ecologically preserved coastal area and the Paso Robles wine country.

08 IMG_6067.JPG

09 IMG_6091 copy.jpg

Although this isn't the best shot, I'm including it since so much of the drive was through our nation's breadbasket in the central valley where so much of our food is grown.
010 IMG_6102.JPG

Monterey Aquarium is the best I've ever witnessed and we watched the sea otter feeding and I was so taken with their cuteness that I forgot to take any photos.
011 IMG_6107.JPG

012 IMG_6116.JPG

Once again, mother nature's son in his element at one of the Redwood forests we visited. These forests smell like heaven.
013 IMG_6125 copy.jpg

Eating a gluttonous meal at Nanking in San Francisco's Chinatown:
014 IMG_6166.JPG

Beautiful tile nearby:
015 IMG_6170 copy.jpg

Finished in Sebastopol with an unbelievably delicious dinner and some visiting and learning about life on my sister’s farm with her 2 ultra-pregnant Icelandic sheep.

016 IMG_5958.jpg

017 IMG_5968 copy.jpg

the coast near Sebastopol
018 IMG_5976 copy.jpg

Thanks for reading my post about my trip, I hope a little goodness rubs off on you, have a beautiful day!

Sort:  

California is definitely a seductress... :))

You are SO right!!

I traveled to California for the first time just a few months ago. I was blown away by (well, the weather obviously) but also the mood. I've been an east coast city guy my entire life. Getting a glimpse of that change in pace and perspective is so important. Thanks for sharing @natureofbeing :)

Yes the mood is really palpable, and we all need that dose of literal and metaphorical sunshine every so often!

@smooth, I'm perplexed as to why you downvoted my post, is 85cents too much to earn or is it about the quality of the post? Please help me understand . Thanks

It's an automatic downvoting bot counteracting steemed's vote. Happened to me too.

So beautiful! I know exactly where you are in each of the pictures by the light! Cambria is one of my favorite little towns. I would gladly invest in a 1920s cottage near town for an inspirational retreat. It sounds like you had a wonderful time.

I want to move there!!

Beautiful! I have been to California numerous times. although we call Western Washington "home." My wife is actually LA born and lived all over California from Joshua Tree to Alhambra to Big Sur... and even in Cambria for a couple of years. It's a beautiful and diverse place, and we might spend more time there were it not so expensive... but it has sort of gone out of our prce range, sadly.

Thanks for the wonderful photos, though!

Thanks @denmakrguy, glad you enjoyed it! Yes definitely more expensive in CA than much of the NW, but also lots more opportunity and jobs pay better, but maybe not in small towns like Cambria.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78