Living in Thailand #4 : Love over The River Kwai - My big fake Thai wedding!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Yeah, yeah yeah! Let's live happily ever after, because I am married.

Just kidding.
He didn't go down on his knees and there is no ring(yet)!

If you ever happen to be involved in a local Thai community, be prepared to get invited for their events and be a big part of it.


And so it happened to me,
I was asked for a 'party' on the bridge over the River Kwai by the people in the neighbourhood. They told me they always celebrate valentines day together on this very special location, because love is an importand aspect of their culture.
Don't be nervous, they said. 'It's not a big deal '

The next day, I was brought to a location to look for a nice party dress with a Thai friend.
I gave her my suspicious look when I saw the store.
Why am I only seeing wedding dresses?!

Don't you know already? You're going to marry for the event and be on live television!

Yeah right, not a big deal ha!


When I arrived at the bridge where everything was supposed to happen, I saw my partner in a suit looking even more surprised than myself. We didn't have much time to talk, because the interviewers were waiting for us.

All those people watching. What the hell am I going to say? Just relax Merel, just re-lax!

yourimage.jpg

Pfffieuw, he is speaking. Please make it long!

yourimage (1).jpg

Can you see how subtle my way of rejecting the microphone is?

yourimage (2).jpg

There's just no way around it!
I thanked all the people for being here and told them how amazing it feels to marry.

yourimage (4).jpg

Although I felt slightly uncomfortable lying to all the bystanders about my 'marriage',
I loved to wear such a beautiful dress and see all the enthousiasm of the people.

yourimage (8).jpg

yourimage (9).jpg

yourimage (11).jpg


But they weren't done with us yet!
More couples were joining at the main event which would take place in the evening.

12742397_755286074605136_5720983055304966427_n.jpg

First, there was a ceremony at the bridge on the river Kwai.
This bridge is quite special because of its history and is known all over the world.

During WW II, Japan used the labour of allied prisoners of war(mostly Australian, Dutch and British) to construct the railway line from Thailand to Burma, also known as the Death Railway. Many labourers died due to dangerous heavy work and the allied forces eventually bombed the bridge. The bridge is rebuild after the war and is now a busy tourist location.

IMG_2917.JPG

IMG_2926.JPG

IMG_2932.JPG

IMG_2951.JPG

IMG_2956.JPG

After the ceremony it was time for us to make it official!

Gimp.jpg

_DSC7690.JPG

_DSC7695.JPG

Note: I have blurred the face of my partner in the pictures because of his privacy

Thank you for reading!

I appreciate an upvote if you liked this post and a follow if you want to see more :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49