The Lucky Country! Luckiest Country on Earth

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Photo of the Day


Hey Steemians,

Welcome to my ever so regular Photo post. I love photography and although I am far from perfect I just can’t help but to keep taking some fresh snaps. I really hope you guys enjoy my post and for those who keep coming back it is so appreciated.

Quick Foreword

About the photographer

Firstly let me tell you a bit about me and my Camera. I studied Photography at the Canberra Institute of Technology several years ago and just couldn’t get enough of it. I started with a Nikon D7000 with a single Nikkor 18-55mm telephoto lenses (really the most stock standard kit on the market) and have stuck with it ever since.
I love my camera and together we have visited over 23 countries (and counting) he has joined me on the beaches of Fiji where I have shot wedding photos, to the Cold Climate forests of Tasmania and even to the 50 C salt plains of Nevada. This camera is one of my best friends and I wouldn’t replace him for the world.

The photography

So like I said, I love photography… I love the technical and artistic sides of the process. For that reason I NEVER let my camera do the work for me. I strictly only shoot in Manual Mode and of course always in RAW. I believe in myself enough to experiment and perfect the art of shooting. When I get back into the workshop I normally always use some level of Post Editing on Light room, but never Photoshop! (Unless its to stitch panoramas) as I don’t believe in manipulating the photos. I only ever strive to show the true beauty and realism of the scene that I was trying to shoot.

Who is the professional here…

I’m far from perfect, and for that reason I really welcome some constructive criticism. Please let me know what you think of my shots and how I can do better. It’s through engagement with wonderful people like you I can improve. There are so many amazing professionals here on steemit.
Without further ado here is today’s photography post.


The Lucky Country

The Australian Story of luck, prosperity and... irony

Every Australian knows the phrase "Australia, The lucky Country". its repeated constantly by politicians and media outlets to describe our prosperous and bountiful country. For most parts its true, Australia per capita is a reasonably prosperous country, we are the 17th most prosperous country in the world actually. Most Australians would feel pride and joy when hearing this phrase but its origins may surprise them.

First penned by Donald Horne, in his book "The Lucky Country" back in 1964. (Surprisingly most people have not read this book and for the few that have find the irony of the contagious phrase entertaining) it was first written down in the last chapter of the book before Donald Horne decided to make it the title. The original passage read:

'Australia is a lucky country, run by second-rate people who share its luck.' -David Horne

Rather than this phrase being universally complimentative it was in fact a jab at the Australia of the time. David explained although Australia reaped the benefits of social, political and technological innovations of the era they were not earned. Australia was still in most parts stuck in the past with colonialism e.g "White Australia Policy" and "Indigenous Australians voting rights".

Fast forward almost 50 years and unfortunately I believe Australia in many ways is still "a lucky country, run by second-rate people who share its luck". For a country with natural resource reserves as large as ours we should not be 17th on the GDP list. We have a great and bountiful country that we don’t really deserve. The below photos were taken on a drive through the countryside west of Canberra and the bountiful farm land is everywhere. How can a country so beautiful and so huge have a GDP per capita of only ~$46,000. In my opinion we must be doing something wrong.

Wow... this started off as a simple Photo post but grew into something more! Enjoy the pics :)






















If you liked my photography be sure to check out my blog for more great posts.

Later Alligator

pagebreak.gif

UPVOTE | FOLLOW | RESTEEM

Upvote, Follow, Resteem

Sort:  

Great post mate!

Great photography and thought provoking commentary. I’ve read ‘The Lucky Country’ and couldn’t agree more with your assessment!

Interesting facts about Australia.
I really like the formation of your pictures, maybe I will steal it, if it is okay :D?

Here is the code in case you wanted to copy. Note the mixing of html and markdown gets a bit funny.

<div class="pull-left">Insert-image-url-here.jpg</div>
<div class="pull-right">Insert-image-url-here.jpg</div>
<hr>
<div class="pull-left">Insert-image-url-here.jpg</div>
<div class="pull-right">Insert-image-url-here.jpg</div>
<hr>
<hr>
<center>Insert-image-url-here.jpg</center>
<hr>

haha ofcourse I stole from @dolladu

hahaha 😂😂

I ended up making a post about it to explain it a bit more.
https://steemit.com/marketing/@nathenial/advanced-image-layout-tutorial

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nathenial
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-lucky-country-luckiest-country-on-earth


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Digital_dude [nathenial] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 0.70% upvote from @upme requested by: @nathenial.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

This post has received gratitude of 0.54 % from @appreciator thanks to: @nathenial.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70992.50
ETH 3860.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52