A Hike in the Aussie Alps - What Aussie snow looks like! - Part 2/2

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Photo of the Day


Hey Steemians,

Welcome to my ever so regular Photo post. I love photography and although I am far from perfect I just can’t help but to keep taking some fresh snaps. I really hope you guys enjoy my post and for those who keep coming back it is so appreciated.

Quick Foreword

About the photographer

Firstly let me tell you a bit about me and my Camera. I studied Photography at the Canberra Institute of Technology several years ago and just couldn’t get enough of it. I started with a Nikon D7000 with a single Nikkor 18-55mm telephoto lenses (really the most stock standard kit on the market) and have stuck with it ever since.
I love my camera and together we have visited over 23 countries (and counting) he has joined me on the beaches of Fiji where I have shot wedding photos, to the Cold Climate forests of Tasmania and even to the 50 C salt plains of Nevada. This camera is one of my best friends and I wouldn’t replace him for the world.

The photography

So like I said, I love photography… I love the technical and artistic sides of the process. For that reason I NEVER let my camera do the work for me. I strictly only shoot in Manual Mode and of course always in RAW. I believe in myself enough to experiment and perfect the art of shooting. When I get back into the workshop I normally always use some level of Post Editing on Light room, but never Photoshop! (Unless its to stitch panoramas) as I don’t believe in manipulating the photos. I only ever strive to show the true beauty and realism of the scene that I was trying to shoot.

Who is the professional here…

I’m far from perfect, and for that reason I really welcome some constructive criticism. Please let me know what you think of my shots and how I can do better. It’s through engagement with wonderful people like you I can improve. There are so many amazing professionals here on steemit.
Without further ado here is today’s photography post.


Mount Kosciuszko

2,228m , Australian Alps National Park

Mt Kozi... as us Australians like to refer to it as is the highest point in Australia; at 2,228m above sea level. The mountain peak isn't actually that hard to hike as the surrounding mountain plateau is already above 1,000m above sea level already. These pictures were taken on a hiking trip to the mountain with some friends. We had a great time just playing in the snow and never actually made it to the summit.
Believe or not this was the FIRST time I had ever seen snow. Unfortunately all the great mountains in Australia are situated along the Great Dividing Range which spans along the south east coast of Australia.... more than 6 hours drive from where I grew up.

To put it simply I had the time of my life that day, it was magical and the weather was perfect! I also love how the Australian bush looks at this elevation. The unique Australian flora (in particular the gum tree) deals with the extreme climate in such interesting ways. These branches and trees look porcelain white and are warped and demented in shapes reminiscent of the wind that tortured it. I just couldn't believe that i was looking at real life plants. They were almost like a VanGogh painting.

Just absolutely stunning stuff... so with out further ado, enjoy!

P.s. Here is the second installment of photos from last nights post.

_DSC1808.jpg

_DSC1818.jpg

_DSC1825.jpg

_DSC1826.jpg

_DSC1836.jpg

_DSC1839.jpg

_DSC1840.jpg

_DSC1922.jpg

_DSC1936.jpg

_DSC1938.jpg

_DSC1942.jpg

_DSC1953.jpg

_DSC1984.jpg

_DSC2072.jpg


If you liked my photography be sure to check out my blog for more great posts.

Later Alligator

pagebreak.gif

UPVOTE | FOLLOW | RESTEEM

Upvote, Follow, Resteem

Sort:  

Mate, you should add these posts to steemit worldmap. http://steemitworldmap.com.
If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. Done, your post is on the map now! There’s also a FAQ section if you need it.

Oh great idea. I completely forgot about it.

Great photos man, I've always wanted to hike Mt Kos during the summer time to get some sweet photos of the mountain ranges without any snow.

Thanks man, its such a beautiful place. I used to go there all the time when i lived in Canberra. Definetly recommend you going in summer or even the shoulder months (if u dont mind a little snow like in my pics)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nathenial
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-hike-in-the-aussie-alps-what-aussie-snow-looks-like-part-2-2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.46
ETH 2656.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81