A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step - Nashkel's travel diary #1

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step


this is it. This is the very first step. Let me tell you a story about a day, which insipired me to pursue my dream.

It was 30th of March and I was in the countryside visiting my girlfriend's family for Easter. I was super excited. It wasn't the first we met, but the winter was too long and it was my first journey out of the city since spring arrived.

In the past few years I was busy doing adult things and I suddenly forgot to live. Forgot to pursue my dream and my happiness. Basically I have three hobbies. Travel, Photography and writing.

And because of the lack of time and motivation I wasn't doing any of it. I felt something is missing from my life, but I wasn't sure what. My camera is just collecting dust on the shelf, my hiking boots is somewhere in the bottom of the cupboard and my pen dried out years ago.
These kind of things influence you in major ways, still sometimes you cannot even describe why aren't you shining anymore. Why you feel like an empty shell.

This day was different. Weather was hazy and cold, but excitment was shivering down my spine as I approach the train. Finally something is happening. 8263521991_d541545368_o.jpg

Nyugati Railway station, Budapest, Hungary

My girlfriend's dog Fanta was waiting for us in the door. I grabbed his leash and we were off to the wild. Have you ever felt that you don't need days or months of thinking to find an answer, but sometimes the realization is so sudden it scares you?

I felt that way. I realized this is what makes me happy. Wandering around in the nature. Always be on the road, exploring, discovering new things cultures too. I was just 100 kilometers away from my city and something moved me.

IMG_0533.jpeg

He is Fanta, the Golden Retriever. Every time we visit, he brings us a leaf in his mouth.

I knew I need a way. I need a goal what to pursue. We were back and after four hours of running/walking I felt tired. I am 29 years old. It is not normal to get exhausted in such short time. Fanta and I were sitting beneath the fireplace casually switching program on TV, when a movie came by. I didn't know this movie will set my short and long term goal once and for all.

EVEREST - the movie

Such masterpiece. Such inspiration for me and probably for thousands of us. My passive life led me to insane amount of weight and I cannot even remember what was the last time I saw my muscles. As I was sitting there petting this little golden retriever rain began to fall and the drops were hitting against the window. Mezmerized by the movie I told myself, I need a new way in my life. I need to pursue at least one thing, what makes me happy.

Every men should experience his own strength.

I set two goals.

Short term goal is to lose weight and quit smoking. I am now 103kg. I used to be 78. A sound mind in a sound body.

And my long term goal is to climb the Kilimanjaro.
I am realistic, I know climbing Mount Everest, the highest peak in the world isn't possible without years of preparation and training. To keep myself motivated I needed a goal, which is not so far and gives me enough power to continue afterwards.

My super long term goal is to climb as many mountains from the SEVEN SUMMIT as possible.

This will be my reward. Now I have 18 months to prepare. In 2020 I am going to climb the Kilimanjaro.

If you are intrested in my journey. Please feel free to follow me @nashkel and hit the upvote button.

goldendad.jpg

This is Fanta and I on our life changing walk.

Sort:  

@nashkel, let me be the first to welcome you to Steemit! Congratulations on making your first post!

I gave you a $.02 vote!

Would you be so kind as to follow me back in return?

Hey @nashkel, want free resteems? All ya gotta do is follow me...

Of course, I do!

Congratulations @nashkel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84